Mac Pro Purchase Advice

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by alarustic, Dec 23, 2012.

  1. alarustic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    #1
    I'm looking to buy a Mac Pro. My plan is to buy the cheapest refurb Apple are offering and then upgrade some components as required.

    That means it a 2010 model, with the Quad Core. I read elsewhere on the forum the best processor to upgrade to is a W3680, Six Core. However, this isn't easily available in the UK, there appears to be no stock anywhere. Is there a similar alternative?

    Also, the ram speed on the 2010 is 1066 MHz, is it possible to achieve 1333 MHz by swapping in faster ram? Or is it processor related?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. texem macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    No, you can add in faster RAM but it's locked to the LB so you won't benefit from any speed increase..The faster memory will just run at the LB's speed.

    Buying a Pro at the moment is not something I'd really advise..I gave up on a true refresh and my upgrade is a maxed out iMac now. I guess if you are going lower end, you should be able to pick up a refurb at a good price from Apple, and they are fine...Fully warranted etc. so no worries there....I just think that the Pro ( even the top end ) is outdated now, and we don't even know if Apple will refresh it, or ( my guess) kill it off completely...I went with this:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #4
    RAM is CPU determined, not LB. My 2009 4,1 Mac Pro was 1066MHz with old CPU, and went to 1333 when the 6-core was installed, automagically. I had the forethought to buy 1333 RAM before doing CPU, and it was 1066 on the old one, then bumping up with just the CPU swap and nothing else.

    I even did the 5,1 firmware update with the old CPU and 1333MHz RAM in place, and it was still 1066 up until the W3680 CPU went in.
     

Share This Page