Mac Pro Quad (09)... which windows 7?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by whyrichard, Nov 25, 2009.

  1. whyrichard macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #1
    Hello,


    I'm about to order windows 7 for my mac pro quad (09). In windows I'll use it primarily for rendering and 3d modeling... which version of windows 7 do you guys recommend?


    thanks,
    r.
     
  2. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #2
    For any Mac Pro, I recommend 64-bit. Professional should be good, I like to use Professional because it doesn't have the media center stuff that I don't need and it includes the domain stuff that I do need.

    If you don't know what they mean, just get Home Premium 64-bit.
     
  3. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I would go with home premium (64bit), it will give you the most benefit with your machine.
     
  4. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #4
    If you have other Macs and want to file share from Windows it is much easier with Professional or Ultimate. As you really need the Local Group Policy Editor which annoyingly is not available in Home.
     
  5. whyrichard thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    #5
  6. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #6
    Incorrect. You need Professional or Ultimate editions of Windows to take advantage of dual CPU machines.
     
  7. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #7
    I believe that is dual physical CPU's only. While dual core and quad core are used just fine in Windows XP/Vista/7 Home.

    I certainly would hope that someone building a dual Xeon or Opteron workstation would be using Professional or Ultimate.
     
  8. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I've got Professional 64bit running on a separate drive in my Octad '09 Pro.

    Runs fine so far. The only issues I recognised are missing Firewire Support and both Gigabit NICs don't support auto-sensing.
    Besides that, everything works flawlessly.
     
  9. KevinN206 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    #9
    The Professional version now includes ALL applications of the Home Premium in addition to domain capability. That means the Media Center is also included in the Professional version.

    Likewise, only the Professional and Ultimate support more than one sockets on the motherboard (multiple socket support). The Home Premium only support 1 socket but multiple cores. If your Mac Pro has 2 CPU sockets, then you'll need Professional or Ultimate.
     

Share This Page