Mac Pro RAID Leopard Upgrade Question

Discussion in 'macOS' started by brisully, Oct 27, 2007.

  1. brisully macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #1
    I have a mac pro with 3 physical disks. Disk 1 is my system, and 2 & 3 are my Data RAID. If I do a clean install of Leopard, and I try to (re) create my RAID, will it wipe out everything on those disks or will it leave the data intact?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    If you do a clean install on Disk 1 it will not wipe the array formed by 2 & 3. Recreating the RAID would wipe it, but there should be no reason to recreate the array.
     
  3. tyr2 macrumors 6502a

    tyr2

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Location:
    Leeds, UK
    #3
    Don't recreate the RAID, just leave it alone and it will 'just work' as it is with the data intact. If you rebuild the RAID in the installer disk utility then it'll probably trash the data on the volume.
     
  4. ElderBrE macrumors regular

    ElderBrE

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #4
    Also update tot he latest firmware before anything if you haven't yet.
     
  5. brisully thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago Area
    #5
    So I have installed 10.5 and the RAID says Degraded, and one of the disks reads "Failed"...:confused: Can I recover the data?
     

Share This Page