Mac Pro Raid Setup Help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Vz909, Feb 28, 2010.

1. Vz909 macrumors newbie

Hi I need some help seting up raid 0 for my mac pro 3,1. Right now I have the stock 320GB drive that I use with Mac OS X, and an additional 500GB drive running Win XP through Bootcamp.

I read on apple's site that you could stripe multiple drives to create a raid 0 to increase performance on the Mac Pro w/o the raid controller card. So my question is how do I do that? I'm in the process of picking a new 2TB drive to set up the raid with the 320GB OS drive. Since the 500GB one is dedicated for XP I don't think I could include it in the raid right? Sorry I'm a tech newbie and help is appreciated. :)

2. NoManIsland macrumors regular

The drives used in a RAID need to be the same size. If you got another 320 GB drive, you could use the OSX Disk Utility to set up a software RAID 0.

3. vvrinne macrumors member

I don't think the drives need to be the same size (atleast for software raid)? Won't the raid size just be determined by the smaller drive?

OP: You should be aware that with a stripe (RAID 0) setup you will loose all your data if one of the disks in the stripe fails. You could consider setting up a striped mirror (RAID 0 + 1) or mirrored stripe (RAID 1 + 0). With these kinds of configurations you get the performance benefits of the striped without loosing your data. You need 4 disks for these though, which is not an option for a lot of people :)

If you are just looking for a performance boost I would personally recommend against the raid setup and just go with an SSD like the Intel X-25, which will blow any raid setups out of the water. Just my 2c though.

4. nanofrog macrumors G4

Actually, that's not the case at all.