Mac Pro RAID

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rumrunner, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. rumrunner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #1
    Hello All,

    Sorry bit of a newb question here...

    I have sold my mac pro but I have two hard drives in RAID that I did not sell with the machine. When I take these out of the machine and pop them into the new one, will they still be recognized as being RAID and function properly?

    Thanks
     
  2. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    How did you implement the RAID? Software (OS X)?

    If so, do they contain the entire OS?
     
  3. rumrunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #3
    Yes, it was software, sorry should have mentioned that.
     
  4. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    I must have edited while you posted.

    Does it contain the entire OS?
     
  5. rumrunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #5
    Yes it was the boot drive
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    You should be fine then.

    Just remove the drive that comes with it, and replace with the existing drives (RAID 0) in the same locations (may not matter), but just in case. :p

    The partition tables are located in the boot sector, so it should boot up. :D
     
  7. rumrunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #7
    Phew!! Disaster adverted! Thanks for the advice, again. I love this place!
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    It's based in the OS, and that's not changing on you. If it were a different controller chip, and the utility provided by the chip manufacturer, you'd loose it. :eek: (Usually the case with software RAID). :(

    You actually got lucky. :D :p
     
  9. rumrunner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    #9
    Boy did I ever! I may still pick up a 1TB external and back it up. :D
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    A backup of some sort at least. ;) :D Even if you have to use a pile of DVD's. :eek: :p
     

Share This Page