Mac Pro referb 2.8 8 core or new 2.66 4 core

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by bigperm, Jul 4, 2009.

1. bigperm macrumors newbie

I am a photographer / designer / art director and am ready to upgrade my work machine to a mac pro. Either one of these options are going to be a huge upgrade from my MacBook Pro 2.2 Intel and iMac Intel.

But I need some help on which one.

http://store.apple.com/us/product/FA970LL/A?mco=MjE0NjQ1OA

or

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/shop_mac/family/mac_pro?mco=MTE3MDU

The new Mac Pro can handle more Ram, has the faster 512 graphics card, but comes in about $200 more after I factor in the air port wireless and ram upgrades on both options.

My question is, am I better off getting the faster 8 Core power of the refurbished model? I mostly run the Adobe Suite, including Lightroom 2.

Also, is Apple care a good idea on either of these work stations. I have never really had a problem with any of my macs over the years (knocking on wood right now) but 3 years coverage seems really nice.

Oh I should also mention that I like to keep my macs as long as possible. My iMac (the first Intel iMac) that I am replacing now has been doing a great job till a few months past when I upgraded to the Canon 5D Mk II and Lightroom and Photoshop started to get slow.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

2. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

Heb1228

I usually skip AppleCare now but $250 isn't too bad for a Mac Pro, especially if it covers a display, but doesn't sound like you're getting a display so that doesn't really affect the decision. I'd lean toward no, but its really personal preference. If you're switching, I'd say get it for the phone support. They're pretty good when I've called in the past. But you're not switching, so that doesn't matter either.