Mac Pro Repair

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by drewsof07, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    One of my worst fears has come to pass, not hearing a "Bonnng!" followed by seeing the gray apple on my trusty 2008 Mac Pro. After beginning a major project for work last week (of course) I put it to sleep for the night, came back the next day, and nothing. After pulling all but the primary hard drive and original RAM, resetting SMC or whatever it is called these days, attempting a PRAM reset, and firmware button reset, I get nothing but fans and a blinking power light. No logic board status lights are lit and the riser card lights flash at boot as they should.
    Had to resort to lugging the 50lb beast to the Apple store that is 70 miles away.
    Genius tried most of the usual tricks: target disk, SMC reset, etc. before "admitting" it for repair with "no idea what could be wrong," over $1500 of parts on order and an estimated repair time of 10-14 days :(

    I don't see much in the way of information or history on Mac Pro repairs here; what, if any experiences have you all had with desktop repairs in-store? I've read various horror stories online about Mac Pro repairs starting then they cascade until the computer is either out of warranty or replaced as a "lemon."
     
  2. dimme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Location:
    SF, CA
  3. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    I do have Applecare, but I added a lot of 3rd party equipment (RAM, GPUs, ODD, Wifi). Just hoping they don't try to pin the failure on those components.
    (I removed everything that wasn't stock and still got the same result, btw). And it all worked fine for the months preceding.
    I think I'm just a worry wart :eek:
     
  4. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    I know you said you pulled all but the ram and boot disk, but did you remove the graphics card as well? I've seen a number of threads where a busted video card stumped Apple "geniuses" and ended up being the culprit all along!
     
  5. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    I did not. I didn't think the GPU would affect booting. I'm not even getting a boot tone, doesn't the tone signal that the CPU and RAM check out before even registering the other components?
     
  6. eljanitor macrumors 6502

    eljanitor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    #6
    After you pulled the ram and video card did you try to reboot it?
     
  7. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    Um yes? I'm not a total noob. lol
     
  8. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    Any news on this?

    Did you try to troubleshoot it by removing the GPU, resetting pram and nvram and all that jazz and then boot it before you had sent it to the Applestore? If you heard the startup sound then, then I would say its the GPU (obviously you won't be seeing anything unless you have another GPU on hand).

    Which GPU does your Mac Pro have? These modern GPU's run very hot and some seem to be prone to failure after about 2-3 years which is pretty unfortunate.

    Edit -

    I realize you do have Applecare, but having these "geniuses" tinkering away on your computer replacing needless part after part is a waste of time. Hopefully they narrow down which component had failed without keeping you out of commission for too long!
     
  9. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #9
    Thanks for your reply, yeah I tried everything I could think of and rebooted after each one. Just fans and a blinking power indicator.
    I have 2 of the nVidia GT120s, I upgraded from the original ATI 2600 that came with it. I dropped it off on Feb 3rd, I have heard nothing since and this makes day 10 without my Mac Pro :(
    I'm concerned at this point...

     
  10. Velin macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #10
    Well when I've had this failure, it's been one of two things: blown video card, or bad RAM. Are you sure you didn't have a bad stick of RAM?
     
  11. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #11
    I took every stick out and tried booting with only 1GB stick of RAM. I then replaced that one with another and tried rebooting again with the same results. I figured the odds of two different brands failing at the exact same time was slim to none.
     
  12. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #12
    Update:
    Just got a call from my Apple store. They have replaced both the logic board and PSU and still cannot get my machine to boot. The genius is going to set up a replacement, pull all my 3rd party gear, and have a CTO computer shipped to the store for me to pick up.

    I love Applecare :D
     
  13. Johnf1285 macrumors 6502a

    Johnf1285

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #13
    Awesome to hear!
     
  14. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #14
    now that is the rockstar treatment:)
     
  15. drewsof07 thread starter macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    It was quite nice. Turns out they had a match at the store for my specs, so I went in tonight and picked up the new machine as well as my parts neatly wrapped in static bags. The genius even let me keep the original primary drive so I can do my own migration at home. 5 stars as far as I'm concerned. Now to get back to my installation :p
     
  16. SeanChandler macrumors newbie

    SeanChandler

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta Canada
    #16
    exactly the opposite experience

    My 2009 quad core Nehalem suffered 3 logic board failures in 12 months.

    Every time I sent it back for repair, the shipping cost me $600 both ways.

    Apple refused to replace the machine so on the last trip back for repair I told Powermax to keep it and I took a $1300 credit.

    From now on I am buying laptops only - I'm not going through that again.

    I really like Apple products but that whole experience has dampened my zeal somewhat.
     

Share This Page