Mac Pro Restore Discs

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cjgonzales1900, Jun 20, 2011.

  1. cjgonzales1900 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #1
    Ok guys so I have a Mac Pro 1,1. I am looking for the original Apple Restore Discs.
    -If you have them can you make me a copy and I will buy the copies.
    -Can i get them from AppleCare? Even tho my machine is out of warranty?
    -Buy original ones online somewhere?

    I need them for the Apple Diagnostic program. thanks
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    You can usually get them by calling 1-800-MY-APPLE, or you could just buy Snow Leopard.

    TEG
     
  3. cjgonzales1900 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #3
    I have tried using Snow Leopard to run the Diagnostic but no luck just boots into the OS. and the disk is fine because I put the SL Disc into my MacBook Pro and the Diagnostic runs.

    I will call AppleCare tomorrow and see thank you.
     
  4. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
  5. cjgonzales1900 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #5
    well it gives a panic cpu failure with the intel cpu controller being the cause I believe.
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    FYI. The included diag test that comes with your disc's is terrible. Never has it found anything. I've ran it at least on 50 separate Macs. Vaporware. Better off pulling panic log and posting here than trying to track down that test that will tell you everything is OK.
     
  7. cjgonzales1900 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #7
    Ok I will if (uh When) it happens again.

    On a side note. So i opened up the mac pro to reset the board. I turned it on and where it says DIMM 1, the red led light was lit up. so I shut down the mac pro and took out the 2 bottom ram's. Now they only blink at start up.

    What does this mean?
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    If you put the memory back in does the light come back on? Most of the lights indicate a memory problem. Which in turn could cause "backtrace on dependencies" your processor is complaining about. Hopefully you just have a bad memory module. Start switching them in and out until you fins the culprit. You can use memtest to stressing the memory but the lights are the easiest indicator.
     
  9. cjgonzales1900 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #9
    I have taken out the B Ram Riser Board. I already know which ram was at fault by the light. I only need 4 gigs of ram for what I do on the machine.

    My question is, will leaving out the B Board mess with anything?
     
  10. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #10
    I can't answer that as I have never done that. Why not keep it installed and just remove the modules and pick the best that can pair up? You said you knew which DIMM's
     
  11. cjgonzales1900 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #11
    Yes I have done this. I only have 4 Sticks of 2gb each. I currently only have 2 installed. If you dont know mac pro ram has to be installed in pairs so Really no need to install just the one module. and It is running fine.
     

Share This Page