MP 1,1-5,1 Mac Pro Running High Sierra - 24" LED Cinema Display Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by goodwill, Jul 29, 2019.

  1. goodwill macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #1
    Hi all,

    Please pardon my ignorance, but I do need some help in that I currently have a Mac Pro - Mid 2010 with a NVIDIA Quadro K5000 4096 running two Apple 24" LED Cinema Displays.

    Today, I had to move my setup to another room in my house and upon setting things back up, only one display is being detected and even though it's detected, it is only displaying half the resolution (currently it's at 1280 x 720) and I am unable to change it to the displays regular resolution (see screenshot).

    A couple of things to note, from both of my displays, I do have mini-display port adaptors going into a female mini-display port with a male display port that plugs into the back of the graphics card. Both displays have these adaptors to work with the graphics card.

    As mentioned I am running 10.13.6. Any help would be tremendous, even just to get the one display that is being detected to at least run in it's a better resolution.

    I had read somewhere that someone said they had downloaded display drivers. I did a bit of looking into this, but other than the 2012 driver release for the LED Cinema displays, I didn't come across anything in this aspect, but didn't want to chase this path further, if it was just going to lead me down another wormhole.

    FWIW, I did do a NVRAM reset earlier, but that didn't trip anything to help remedy the resolution issue.

    Thanks in advance for any help or insight.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    If everything was working, until you moved them. Then it's hardware issue, not driver issue.

    Check all the cables, connectors, etc.

    Also, you may try to reseat the graphic card.
     
  3. goodwill thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #3
    Thanks, I've reseated the graphics card and it is in there firm and the issue still persists. I am now going to try replacing the adapter cables to see if there were any pins that had gone bad / were bent when unplugging them for the move. They won't come until tomorrow so I'll see what comes of that. For what it is worth, one monitor, as I mentioned, turns on, but with the half resolution, the other monitor, when plugged in to the graphics card display port, does not turn on at all when I try to test that out as a single monitor.
     
  4. MarkC426 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Have you tried both monitors individually, and in each port on the gpu?
     

Share This Page

3 July 29, 2019