Mac Pro seems to be dead?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ImShane, Apr 17, 2012.

  1. ImShane macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    My Mac Pro just switched off, and its not coming back on, its dead! After googling it people say it could be the logic board, but how do i know for sure? Could it be something simple like the power unit ect?
     
  2. titatom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Montréal, QC
    #2
    Hahaha, at first I thought this was another "the MP line is discontinued thread". Happy to see it isn't ! :)


    Now to answer your question :

    If absolutely nothing happens when you press the power button, yes I could potentially be the power supply (which I pray for you it is, rather that the logic board)

    I your type of situation, I doubt forums will really be able to help you as it might be a hardware problem very specific to your machine.

    I would try and switch different components with an other mac pro to be able to identify the problem but most people don't have that type of hardware handy.

    My advice would be to take it in at your local Apple Store and get a quote...

    Good luck !

    edit : this is my post #100 ! Hope it helps ;)
     
  3. ImShane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #3
    Bringing it to a local apple store is a problem to where i live.. so that wont be happening, lets hope its the power unit!
     
  4. titatom macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Montréal, QC
    #4
    In that case I would go and try to change the power supply, it's the least expensive thing you can try (and you can always sell the power supply back on eBay if it doesn't work)"

    I don't know if you are still under Applecare or not but you might consider taking it in to a regular computer shop so that they can determine which part is defective. If you don't mind a bit of DIY, you can then buy the parts and make the swap yourself...you'll need to be more or less teksavvy depending on your MP model.

    Maybe someone can jump in and give a second opinion...
     
  5. ImShane thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    #5
    Na my machine is well out of warranty, this power unit, can i not just buy the whole unit? I am not sure what you mean when you say determine which part is defective, if i bought a new unit could i not just replace it myself, i will stay away from stores, its cheaper to diy it ;)
     
  6. Cindori, Apr 17, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2012

    Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    I don't get guys that ask for help without providing the slightest of details. It's like you don't even want help. I mean, why should I bother trying to play detective when you don't give out ANY of the info like:

    Model
    Hardware
    Tried resetting SMC/PRAM
    What you did prior to problem
    Boot sound?
    Front led light?
    Inside CPU error light?
    Inside RAM error light?
    etcetc

    Just pushing a button and concluding "it doesnt work" and moving on to replacing parts is so naive it makes me sick
     
  7. Wardenski macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    #7
    Is it not coming on at all whatsoever?

    Maybe a fuse has blown or your PSU is dead.
     
  8. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #8
    My 2010 Mac Pro developed a similar issue where pressing the power button did nothing (no LED, no fan spin-up etc). Took it to the Apple store and they said the PSU was defective and replaced it, now it works just fine.
     
  9. Photovore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    #9
    I've fixed many of this type of problem on G4 towers and laptops by resetting the PMU. On the G4s this was a simple matter of opening up the case and pressing a small button on the logic board; the procedure was different for the laptops of course. Is there an equivalent operation for the Mac Pro?

    ... looking ...

    seems it's called the SMC on Intel-based macs, and here's how you reset it on a mac pro:

    Shut down the computer.
    Unplug the computer's power cord.
    Wait fifteen seconds.
    Attach the computer's power cord.
    Wait five seconds, then press the power button to turn on the computer.

    source: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964
     

Share This Page