Mac Pro "Server" CPU sockets

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ddevore9, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. ddevore9 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #1
    I am looking to pick up a Mac Pro sooner than later. I am curious if I pickup the "server" edition with a single CPU if it has 2 CPU sockets, only with one in use? I can't seem to find anything on the internet... I know when I purchase xservers (RIP) they had 2 sockets.

    Thanks for any info!!
     
  2. goMac macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    I'm guessing the server edition is exactly the same as the client version. At least the old server towers were.

    (Well, I take that back a bit. Back in the early 2000's the Mac servers had some additional hardware, but the board was still the same.)
     
  3. ddevore9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #3
    I'm guessing your right - I only really raise the question because this is the only version of the Mac Pro that you can pick single / dual CPU in the ordering screen on apple.com. I'll email my apple rep and see if she may know, I'd love the ability to upgrade in the future.
     
  4. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #4
    On the pre 2k9 models the single CPU machines shipped with 2 sockets, 1 filled. Since 2009 the single CPU machines don't have a second socket to my knowledge. The server edition machine is the same as the current normal hardware, though at base specced slightly higher than the normal base and comes with a license for OSX Server
     
  5. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I'd say pool the extra money for the DP model, just make sure it's the lowest one, that way you can get the extra heatsink for when you do upgrade the CPU as Apple charges an obscene amount for those otherwise.
     
  6. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #6
    No Mac Pro currently comes with an empty socket.
     
  7. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #7
    See what Active Storage offers in the next day or two.

    The current Rumor Mill says they might be picking up where the XServe left off.

    e: I see you weren't interested in a server, my bad. But still - lik everybody said, no empty sockets since the Nehalem machines rolled out.
     
  8. ddevore9 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    #8
    Thanks!

    Thanks for the info all, I'm glad I did not place the order without double checking - that could have been most irritating.... I decided to go for the 8 core. My plan is not really to use it as a production server (we are an HP Blade shop all in VMWare) but to give me a workstation powerful enough to test many virtual servers at once. My dell sounded like it was going to explode with 2 server 2008 and a linux server loaded up...
     

Share This Page