Mac Pro Setup

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by DIGITALiam, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. DIGITALiam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    Hey so I spent some time looking and this is about what I want in my next setup.

    Mac Pro-
    - One 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    - 6GB Ram
    - 640GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s (I'll use my current 60GB SSD as a boot drive)
    - NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 512MB
    - (For display connection I'm a little confused but I'll hook up to the displays below)
    - Two Samsung XL-2370-1 23-Inch Widescreen LED LCD Monitors
    - Magic Mouse

    This should run me to about $3,319.
    Should I get this or is there a cheaper (and safe) alternative (used?).
    Thanks
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    Did you miss the announcement of the new Pros? I'd wait until they start shipping, as you can get a faster processor, better GPU, and the possibility of more RAM standard or another small bonus. Also, don't have Apple upgrade the RAM for you, it is usually a good bit cheaper to do yourself.
     
  3. DIGITALiam thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    No, I didn't miss the announcement. I just would get the baseline as it has all the power I need. And of course I would get the ram from outside of apple.
     
  4. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #4
    That is the 2009 baseline, the 2010 baseline has a 2.8GHz quad, Radeon 5770 graphics card (much better), 1TB hard drive and built in airport. You would really not wait a week for that? :confused:

    If you really don't care, then you could wait to see what the refurbished section is like when the new models come out, as Apple use that to clear old stock.

    Either way you will need a mini DisplayPort to DVI adapter to drive the two displays.
     
  5. iDisk macrumors 6502a

    iDisk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
    #5
    What is it that you do?

    And I would wait a week because the base model has stayed the same price and has a better graphics card more ram standard and better processor.

    But again what do you do?

    Cause it sounds like a iMac would be better for you, since the current Mac Pro baseline specs are inadequate.
     

Share This Page