Mac Pro Silent Baseline Ram Upgrade??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by peiffman1, Aug 4, 2007.

  1. peiffman1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #1
    I'm probably completely crazy, but I was just looking at the baseline config for the mac pro and the RAM is 1 Gb(2x512). Am I crazy or was it just recently at a pathetic 512 mb? Did Apple recently and silently make this "upgrade"? Could signal bad news for new Mac Pro's on the 7th. I'm probably wrong though....:eek:
     
  2. Spikeanator6982 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    #2
    ram was two 512's when it came out. the ram has to be in pairs.

    Brad
     
  3. oingoboingo macrumors 6502a

    oingoboingo

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    The MacPro has had a standard 1GB RAM configuration since its launch.
     
  4. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #4
    you are wrong.

    it always had 1g. I doubt apple would try and sell it with 2x256 chips... if they even exist.
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    MacPro has always been 1 Gb (2 x 512) - they have never shipped 256 Mb FB-DIMMs (Don't know if you can actually get those? I've certainly never had call for them)
     
  6. peiffman1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    Meh. Like I said, I must be going crazy. Thanks for confirming my insanity ;)
     

Share This Page