Mac Pro Slow

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dogbait, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. dogbait macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #1
    I have a mac pro 2.66 (4-core) with 5GB RAM and a 500GB RAID-0 system disk, yet despite this I find running Lightroom and Vmware Fusion causes the machine to slow down.

    I'm seeing CPU usage in Activity Monitor around 70-80% and page outs around 22k.

    Surely this machine shouldn't even be breaking a sweat...?
     
  2. martinlk macrumors member

    martinlk

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
  3. dogbait thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    vmware-vmx, System Events and kernel_task.

    I notice a lot of disk thrashing as well despite having 5GB RAM. My page ins/outs are 1246905/196768.

    thanks :)
     
  4. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
  5. dogbait thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #5
    No, not really. I'm pulling the trigger on more RAM, perhaps that will help...(it's either that or an 8-core... ;)
     
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #6
    You've already got a ton of RAM -- plenty for virtually any purpose. If you've got money to burn, I suppose, but I don't see it curing your issues.
     
  7. hayduke macrumors 65816

    hayduke

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    is a state of mind.
    #7
    Are you running vmware in full screen mode? I've noticed that this can eat up resources well beyond what one would expect.
     
  8. dogbait thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    I wish I had a ton of money, but RAM is relatively cheap.

    Is it the case that a large number of page outs within a short space of time is an indication that the system needs more RAM?

    Hayduke, I am running vmware in full screen mode. Changing it to single window makes little difference.

    Is vmware's high CPU usage normal?
     
  9. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #9
    Since you have 4 cores, the readout for CPU usage can go up to 400% if iirc.

    So 70/80% isn't that high... I could be wrong though...
     
  10. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #10
    Yes -- which is why I asked you if performance was better after a reboot. Restarting deletes the VM swap files which get created when physical RAM is exceeded, and they are what cause the slowdowns. If this is the issue, you should see a performance bump after the restart, at least for a while.
     

Share This Page