Mac Pro Sometimes Booting, Sometimes Not.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jakesaunders27, Feb 15, 2014.

  1. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a 1,1 which is still going strong, however recently it has been coming up with a white screen with a flashing folder with a face on, however sometimes it boots and sometimes it does that, any ideas?
     
  2. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #2
    Sounds like a failing hard drive, how old is your startup disk? If it's the original HDD that shipped with the Mac, it might be time to look into getting a replacement.
     
  3. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    No it isn't, I took that out not long ago because it was making a clicking noise, it has a WD Green 500GB from another computer so its probably around 3 years old? Something like that. Maybe its a good excuse to get an SSD! Cheers mate
     
  4. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #4
    Ok so it's not booting at all now, il reinstall on a spare 500GB sata drive I have and buy an SSD, what a great Sataurday afternoon this is going to be!
     
  5. jenzjen macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
  6. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    I think so, I repaired it with disc utility, and managed to boot it, so just copying the 80 gig or so I hadn't finished sorting out to my RAID!
     
  7. Robert Davies macrumors 6502

    Robert Davies

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    People's Republic of Wrexham
    #7
    How recently have you changed the CMOS/pRAM battery on the motherboard?

    From personal experience, it can make booting a bit 'random' when the battery is on the way out.

    -Rob
     
  8. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #8
    Ive never! Never even thought of that, I'm going to try mavericks as I just posted to you on the other thread, if still getting random non boots will have a look into that, thanks for mentioning the battery
     
  9. Saltymac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Location:
    Rocky Mt State
    #9
    Glad you are getting a new drive - a 3 yr old green wd isn't really a reliable replacement. I would urge you to consider a new wd black 2 T or more drive before a ssd if you have a lot of valuable data you would like to save. You will need a good base drive to supplement your sad limited capacity which you will want to use for startup data. Good luck with the Mavericks install. You also need to evaluate your 1900 card - getting pretty long in tooth for continued reliability.
     
  10. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    I'm installing on a spare 500GB drive I have will hopefully order an ssd on Monday if the funds allow! And I have my RAID array for big files so an SSD is fine for me, and yes I know a new GPU will come after SSD!
     
  11. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #11
    A WD Green for a boot drive - crikey. Hotukdeals has good deals on the Crucial M500. Got a 120Gb for £55 from amazon linked there only the other day delievered for a client. A lot of them need the firmware updated with the ISO off their website though but will make the performance seem light years better even in a sled!
     
  12. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Thats what Im thinking a M500 but probs a 240 which is still a good deal for just under £100 and yes I know! Live life on the edge ;)
     
  13. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #13
    Live life on the snooze more like waiting for a 5400 green spinner to boot an OS off it more like lol. I cant tolerate booting off a normal hard drive any more, spinning tops are strictly for storage!
     
  14. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    Yes I agree, the difference between my MBA and my MP is mental! Amazon have the 240GB M500 for £85 so might snap one of them up before they go up, cheapest I've seen them for ages! Just waiting for my modified mavericks USB key to finish, hope my old x1900 can run Mavericks ok ish until I can get a new GPU
     
  15. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #15
    85 quid - they were 97 the other day. I'll grab one now cos I need another for a job Wednesday. Even in a sled its the best upgrade you can give any PC never mind just a Mac.
     
  16. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    are the optical bays faster with the mobo SATA ports than the standard drive sleds?

    ----------

    and yes!

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00BQ8RM1A/?tag=ho01f-21
     
  17. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #17
    Bought it already :D

    Worked fine in my sleds till I got the Solo x2 going properly with twin 840 evo's with OSX and bootcamp.
     
  18. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #18
    ahh I see, damn I'm jelous!
     
  19. Robert Davies macrumors 6502

    Robert Davies

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    People's Republic of Wrexham
    #19
    Hi Gav,

    What adaptor did you use to fit the drive to the sled?

    ----------

    Holy Mother of God!!

    I just SFOTT'd a Samsung 120GB SSD I had handy. I could never call my MP a slouch, but with an SSD boot drive!!
     
  20. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #20
    I've finally finished, and I think I'm going to have to get some kind of graphics card first graphics are useable but laggy, but Tiamo is amazing!
     
  21. Robert Davies macrumors 6502

    Robert Davies

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    People's Republic of Wrexham
    #21
    I know! I haven't found anything about the MP that doesn't work just like it should do :)

    What were :apple: up to all this time?
     
  22. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #22
    Tiamo doesn't have a lot of activity here does he, maybe apple have gone undercover for us old Mac Pro owners ;) joking aside I'm really chuffed just new GPU and SSD and I'm set
     
  23. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #23
    I'm thinking of getting a GTX 550/560 Ti probably the 550 due to cost, will that run Mavericks de-lagged and with my other monitor? Until I can afford a better card?
     
  24. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #24
    I use the NWT Adaptadrive, fits all Mac Pro sleds with an SSD instead of buying custom sleds. The icybox cases I find fall to bits!
     
  25. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #25
    My sons GTX 650 Ti works great in my 3,1 and cost £70 new on ebay a few months ago. Uses 1 PCIe power connector and fine performance unless you want to push hard with games over 1680x1050.

    I went for the £200 used PC EVGA 680 option and flashed the Mac EFI
     

Share This Page