Mac Pro SSD Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by iBotz, Dec 2, 2011.

  1. iBotz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #1
    Well, I am using an OWC Mercury Extreme SSD (115gb) and it will not be recognized by the computer.

    Today I logged on all fine and worked on some stuff, then I switched to Windows. When I went to switch back to the SSD, it would not boot onto it. The SSD is around 3 months old. This has happened to me with another SSD too.

    Has the drive died?
     
  2. Loa macrumors 68000

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #2
    Hello,

    Can you try it in another computer?

    Loa
     
  3. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    I had a dual boot ssd in my mac pro for about a week and experienced what you are talking about. It went strait to recovery drive. I took out all my drives but the ssd and it fixed it. I went out and bought a separate HD for windows and has been working flawless ever since.
     
  4. saulinpa macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #4
    It might be "panic locked" Happens to my OWC 6G drive if I let the drive or machine go to sleep. They keep on saying that the problem will be fixed in the next firmware update as it is a known problem with Sandforce based SSDs.

    I power cycle 5 to 20 times and it comes back to life.
     
  5. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #5
    Please be model specific. It is not all SF based drives. The 6G's do have pausing issue after sleep on Nvidia controllers and others. Never had an issue on X58 though. Not 1 single pause. The OWC Mercury Pro SATA2's do not exhibit this problem on any chipset that I know of. Either way it is a PITA to keep track of. They should just fix it. Maybe they can't.
     
  6. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #6
    My 1 month old OWC 115GB just doesn't show up on my Mac Pro. It worked perfectly last night and this morning when I turned on the Mac Pro it simply vanished, cannot make it mount at all......did it died so fast and easily? It just has Lion installed on it.
     
  7. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    Could be. When SSD's go out, they are gone. Was your's 6G or 3G? Pro or Elektra, etc?
     
  8. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #8
    3G...115GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro SSD
     
  9. Sonhascome macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland
  10. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #10
    How to reformat something that cannot be seen?????:eek:
    It does NOT mount at all.
    Tell me how to make it visible and I'll format it!:confused:
     
  11. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    If it is not on the bus at all as a device it is probably toast. Boot to OS from another source and check Disk Utility or Profiler. Then start the RMA process.
     
  12. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #12

    ....more of an RMA process :D

    I booted from 2 other drives: Snow Leopard & Lion as well as Disk Warrior.....SSD is INVISIBLE:( nowhere to be seen.....just an empty bay...
     
  13. powerless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #13
    Yep, same thing has happened to me, the 115GB Extreme...last Thursday. SSD lasted about 2 months. Exact same symptoms. One minute it's working (a shutdown and boot next day) it didn't work. It's currently being RMA'd.

    This is actually a second RMA, due to a previous failure (same model, size) with exactly the same problems.
     
  14. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #14

    I wonder if I can ask tomorrow over the phone a different model of SSD, maybe a 120GB.....
     
  15. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 65816

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #15
    How is the SSD installed in the Mac Pro? if via an Icey Dock, remove the Dock and check the fitting of the SSD inside. Had a Kingston go this way, opened the Dock and somehow the SSD had slipped backwards and connectors were not in contact.

    Nevertheless OWC have great after sales service and the SSD is under warranty. Send them an email and they will assign a case number and request you return the drive.
     
  16. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #16
    Connected via a NewerTech AdaptaDrive bought at the same time with the SSD from OWC. Tried the SSD directly on the Mac Pro SSD SATA port without the AdaptaDrive....no dice.
    Called the OWC for a RMA and tomorrow morning I'll ship it back.....hoping for a better one next time, if not, I'll go back to trusty SATA 3.5 drives.
     
  17. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #17
    My OWC SSD just crashed today. Got a grey screen at boot and couldn't do anything. Took it out and was able to chose my window partition. They are sending me a replacement. Had problems from the beginning. Lock ups then wouldn't boot. Had that scary incident with my windows partition on it.
     
  18. Flocarino macrumors member

    Flocarino

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #18
    I wonder if these OWC are any good....too many going dead, this sound like a bad batch to me, or even a bad model, not fully tested before released for sale to the public.:mad:
     
  19. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #19
    People who follow SSDs have been warning visitors here against Sandforce drives for months (OWC, OCZ, and others). These problems are not new. Buy Crucial, Intel, or Samsung.
     

Share This Page