Mac Pro system purchase

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Michael McKilla, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. Michael McKilla, Jun 21, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 22, 2014

    Michael McKilla macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    california
    #1
    I would like help building a computer system for my music studio. I would like the Mac Pro 8-core (2010 and up). I would also like an external hard drive, a 27” Thunderbolt display and Logic Pro-X or Pro Tools. This system needs to be compatible with my Allen & Heath Zed 428 and my M-Audio Pro Fire 610. Please help, anybody!
    Michael
     
  2. m4v3r1ck, Jun 21, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2
    Delete your phone number and email adress ASAP

    Perhaps it's WISE to delete your phone number and email adress ASAP, If needed members can contact you with a PM (Private Message) on this forum.

    ~ Cheers
     
  3. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Yes, delete the email add and phone #! Maybe the Mod may do it before you get back!

    A few things:
    1. What is your budget?
    2. Since the MP will be built around the two pieces mentioned, an MP with FW400 is a must. After looking at the Pro fire 600, FW400 is the only connection!
    3. Not sure why you want external HD's. Do you know that the MP's have 4 slots for internal drives?
    4. The 428 will be connected from the PF 600 so it really has nothing to do with the MP directly.
    5. Logic and Pro Tools will run on them all. The question is how many traks and plugins do you run? Do you bus?
    6. May be better to raid 0 3 internal drives for your music.
    7. As for as a TB monitor I will leave that to others to figure out.
     
  4. nox-uk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #4
    He can't now you've put them in your quote!

    Nox
     
  5. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    THANKS, corrected! My bad :eek:
     
  6. sebseb macrumors 6502

    sebseb

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    #6
    Well he can't connect a 27" TB display to 2010-2012 models! So if he really wants TB, then he must go with the 2013 nMP! If he only wants the display, then he can get a 27" Apple Cinema Display, either refurbished or used on ebay!
     
  7. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    Keep in mind before anyone suggests to get an nMP, the OP will only get FW by way of the ATD, or a TB converter - if running on an nMP.

    The oMPs are capable machines, especially for something as "easy" as sound.

    As for the mentioning of the ATD, sebseb is 100% correct; you cannot get the ATD to run on an oMP - and there is no way to accomplish this (or at least if there is, I'd like to know).
     
  8. austinpike macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    MN
    #8
    As mentioned a Thunderbolt Display requires an actual Thunderbolt port (not just Mini DisplayPort) which is impossible to add to a MacPro of that vintage. Assuming the one you get comes with a Radeon 5770 or 5780 video card you can use an Apple Cinema Display (refurb or used,) or there are dozens of cheaper 27" options from other manufacturers.

    Whatever you end up with, I would throw a few SSDs into the equation, maybe one for system/apps and one for working files. Longer term storage could be on larger HDDs.
     
  9. pragmatous macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    #9
    why not get the nMP? It goes all the way up to a 12 core.

     
  10. Michael McKilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    california
    #10
    future mac pro for my music studio !!

    my budget is $5,000 to $6,000 I would like to get a used 8core or higher but i need the safety of a warranty. this is my 1st apple desktop so im taking this last step cautiously .. I need to know that this is going to last me for a while all i know is it should be a ssd. i want 16gb and 1tb on the HD i also have (2) 32'' plasma tvs & a 42'' that i would like to hook up to the mp I have a 66 key roland pioneer djm turn tables a mpc 1000 and mics and 4 mackie studio monitors all this is hooked up to my monster power 3500 which is powered by my QSC 2450 amp . my allen & heath runs through my big knob(studio command center) then to my maudio then this would hookup to my future mac pro. my music will be 30 to 60 tracks at 1st, and bigger as i get more confidence later on.if you need a diagram i could shoot you photos of my setup .. michael
     
  11. VirtualRain, Jun 22, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014

    VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #11
    If you have a budget of $5K-6K, why not a new 2013 Mac Pro? The latest 6 core will likely out perform the 8-core system you're considering and actually work with and benefit from a Thunderbolt Display. It obviously comes with a full warranty and will have a longer life span as well. You could get a 6-Core, D300, 16GB, 1TB nMP with TB Display for a little over $5K all-in. I'm pretty sure between your Thunderbolt Display and a couple inexpensive adapters all your connectivity needs would be fully covered as well.
     
  12. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #12
    When you post you can add photos in the "Additional Options" > "Attach Files" section. Maybe just mention the connections on the 2 32's and the 42. What ever amount you spend, I want to make sure I don't give bad advice based on not enough info.
    This is were things get complicated.
    1. You have the 3 large displays which each probably has hdmi. But you want a 27inch TB display. As mentioned in several posts, the TB display will narrow your choices to the nMP's (new Mac Pros). This in turn uses more money than you want to spend (8 core nMP $7,300)
    2. You can use an 8 core 2009 MP to do music recording. But the 2009 and 2010 MP's dumped the FW400 ports. You would have to get a audio interface that's FW800
    3. If you go the 2009 oMP route you also will have to dump the video card (gt120). Since you will need to run all 3 displays you can search for that specifically. 2 cards or if there is a way to run 3 from one card. Someone will chime in on this. There are 4 PCIe slots in the 2009 & 2010's.
    4. When it comes to mixing if you use UAD or Waves the SSD will help. Here you will need to place it in a PCIe slot with something like http://www.apricorn.com/vel-solox2.html This will give you 6G speed with a 6G SSD.
    5. 16GB of ram is a good start. Since the 2009's ram is inexpensive you should shoot for 24-32.
    6. You may want to get the 1TB HD you speak of as storage for audio files. Use the SSD just for mixing so it does not fill up.
    So your set up would look like this:
    2009 8core MP 24-32GB Ram
    4 internal hard drives- 1.OS 2. 1TB Audio files storage 3. ? 4. ?
    4 PCIe slots- 2 video cards (if needed) 1 Apricorn for SSD (Mixing) 1 Another SSD for OS instead of slot 1
    Connect all 3 large displays to Videos card(s)
    7. Unless you are doing live recording it is better you mix in Protools and just monitor thru the external mixer. Also bypass the Protools plugs too.
    Are you using the PF 600 as a midi interface for the Roland? Is the Roland just to trigger? Are you using the PF 600 as a mic pre also?

    Well that's enough for now. Will give the nMP people a chance to make their case! :D
     
  13. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #13
    Thanks for the invitation... ;). Some counter points in favor of the nMP...

    - The current 6 core would likely out perform the older 8 core and be right in his budget.

    - FW800 to FW400 adapters can be had for $10 on Amazon and a FW800 interface is standard on the TB Display (and of course, the 2009-2012 MP).

    - No SSD (or even a pair in RAID0) on an older Mac Pro will perform like the one in the nMP.

    - RAM is also very affordable for the nMP.
     
  14. OS6-OSX, Jun 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014

    OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #14
    You are speaking in general terms.
    1. What speed is needed to play 30-60 audio tracks?
    2. Does the speed needed change if he mixes above 48K?
    3. Is there a difference between mixing using UAD plugins and Waves?
    4. How does PT and Logic differ when mixing? Mastering? Midi?

    Things I am suggesting are not based on theory
     
  15. blanka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2012
    #15
    Yet they will in a Mini.

    How important is the 8-core? Does it do all its multi-thread awesomeness on live-actions, or rendering in the background?

    If you want to hook up 2TB displays, have 1GB/s read write SSD, 16GB of RAM and Firewire support, USB3.0 for super fast external storage, then the 2.6 mini might be a great option too.
    Fill it with 2x512GB Samsung840 Pro's in RAID 0, and you match the blistering drive speed of the NMP. And very portable!
    It only does 12600 on Geekbench though ;)
    The 2010-2012 6-core and 8 core server do around 15000
    Only the 12 cores are a really big step up to double the mini power at around 25000.
     
  16. OS6-OSX, Jun 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2014

    OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #16
    Last thing.
    If you go the oMP route you will save $ that can be put into gear. Don't know if you are using the PF 610 for mic pre or not but the saved $ can be used to get a Neve or Manly. Universal Audio even has a good selection. Also, don't know what is in your mic locker. Running AKG 414's? C12's? Neumann? Anyway, between the Mic and the mic pre you have to get the signal clean to what ever MP you get. If you spend all the $ on a oMP or nMP, neither one of those computers are going to save what ever was recorded on it!:eek:
    Here is a photo of my mobile rack:
    1. HDX-SDI audio/video interface
    2. Audio Mic pre by Neve
    3. TC Electronics Finalizer-Only used for conversions
    4. Power strip
    5. Hard Drives

    Here are some places to check oMP's and warranty
    http://www.usedmacs.us/?name=Mac-Pro&Scategory=1077648508
    http://www.macofalltrades.com/Refurbished-Used-Apple-Desktops-s/2.htm
    http://www.dvwarehouse.com/Apple-Mac-Pro-c-5210.html
     

    Attached Files:

  17. CASLondon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    #17
    It is not a given that a nMP will outperform an older 8 core. A 2009-2012 with a processor upgrade and pcie ssds can match the performance in a nMP. See Barefeats.com for more information. One could do this base computer for well under 2 grand, saving a fair amount of money towards other kit/upgrades.
     
  18. Michael McKilla thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Location:
    california
    #18
    building a mac system

    yes a 27'' screen would be nice if it was compatible with the 8 or 12core mac pro i would run one screen for plug ins, one for mixing, & one for edit & arrangement. I have my big knob (studio command center), allen & heath(zed 428), &my roland 66key g6 connected to the M-audio(profire 610) I was hoping to buy a mac around $2500 then get a 27'' screen then I should have enough to get cables pro tools & misc other stuff. I have my midi out on the roland going to midi in on my profire 610 and my rt/lf balanced 1 & 2 (roland) going to 1 & 2 channel on the allen and heath. my 2 mics are connected to the allen/heath 7/8 channels (blue bird & sennheiser)
     
  19. fredr500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #19
    If you are looking for a 27" screen check this one out. Highly rated by Tom's, can be and for $500.

    I grabbed an open box from Newegg for less than $380 shipped a while back. My only regret is not buying two, these are beautiful displays. I calibrated it and can't see a difference between calibrated/uncalibrated. Can't say the same for the other monitors on the system.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/planar-pxl2790mw-review,3647.html
     
  20. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #20
    1. With the Blue Bird and Sennheiser you should be fine.
    2. The 27 inch monitor linked by fredr500 has all the standard inputs and will work with most video cards.
    It is not TB.
    3. It’s pretty much time to list possible configurations, locate, price and get a grand total. I will list a configuration and connections. The web surfing will be up to you.
    Computer-a. 2009 Macpro Look here http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_pro/index-macpro.html to read specs on all MP’s.
    b. 24-32 GB ram
    c. 1 TB HD for Audio file storage (internal)
    d. 1 HD for OS (look at system requirements of the protocols SW you get) 10.6.8? 10.8.5? 10.9?
    e. 1 SSD adapter for 6G SSD. Apricorn 2x or another type
    f. 1 6G SSD (for mixing)
    g. 1 6G SSD to boot OS. Since you will put this MP together, might as well use an SSD as a boot drive now instead of later.
    h. They have SSD adapters that hold 2 SSD’s. You may want to look into that. I don’t think I would want my OS SSD and mixing SSD on the same card.
    i. Video card(s) Here again you can search on this site for cards placed in 2009 MP’s. The Nvidia gtx 660 shows on their site 4 monitor capability. But you need to cross reference the ports of all displays to be used to what ever card you get. Keep in mind the gtx 660 is double wide so you will only have 2 slots left. Also, look into AMD cards. I’m on the Nvidia side of the fence so I have no comment on them.
    j. Look up fw400 to fw800 cables by Belkin. You can try one of those or another brand and see if your PF600 remains stable.
    k. Mics (audio) and the Roland (midi) plug into the PF610 and I take it you are going audio in and out of the PF610 to the mixer.

    Eyeing the list you should come out under $3000.00 but you will know for sure after you add it all up.

    The base nMP 4 core is $3000.00. If you go this route make sure all items are taken into consideration.
    a. Incorporating the displays you already own and that additional cost
    b. Thinking how your PF610 connects and that additional cost
     
  21. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #21
    You also might consider a configured for your needs 27" iMac unless you can actually utilize eight cores.

    You'll want to record to a large enough external HDD drive so you're never using more than 50% of it's capacity.
     
  22. MMcCraryNJ macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    #22
    I don't know why you're completely set on the Apple TB display, but I'd consider alternatives. There are many great monitors with the same size and resolution but for half of the price (and even lower). You can get a professional-grade Asus 27" IPS LED display for $450, with lower panel response times to boot. The Apple displays are nice, but I'm not even sure the hardcore Apple people would recommend them anymore based on their current price. Paying $1000 for that screen is insane.
     
  23. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #23
    Agreed. The Apple TB displays are excellent but they're simply outdated now and the price hasn't come down to match.
     

Share This Page