MAC PRO: The right windows drivers for gaming?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DrLemur, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. DrLemur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #1
    I have a Mac Pro 6-core with AMD firepro dual 3GB cards running Windows 8.1.
    I've been quite happily running windows games on it only I can not for the life of me remember what drivers I ended up using.. I just remember I used Firepro Control centre.. which after a reinstall of my system recently and messing about with drivers that didn't work (of which I've since uninstalled) no longer is on my system.

    I remember I went through a huge upheaval when I first got this machine getting the right drivers so if anyone can tell me what they are and far more importantly where I can get them ( a link would be good! ) that would be amazing! I can't tell you the amount of times someone has told me "just download the latest drivers".. I have no idea what they are that's why I'm asking :) The bootcamp ones are terrible so the recommended ones are no good I know that much. Anyone who can help please let me know. It's driving me insane.
     
  2. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    How about just downloading the latest drivers? :p

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

    Pick the driver according to your Windows version fro the "Latest AMD Catalyst™ Drivers" section.
     
  3. DrLemur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #3
    I've done this many times and the driver that the site detects for my machine is apparently the wrong one as the games I was running on whatever I had installed before looked amazing and now they look absolutely awful.. Anti-aliasing in particular.

    If anyone actually has a Mac Pro and is running Windows games on it it would be very useful to specifically know which driver they used so I can manually go get it. I don't think AMD have any clue what to use on this setup using bootcamp.
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
  5. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #5
    This.

    I'm also using the latest catalyst drivers from AMD site. However, I had to run this uninstaller tool, otherwise things sometimes got ugly (FirePro Control Center could not launch, new drivers semi-installed on top of the remains of older ones etc).

    Don't trust the uninstall from Windows Control Panel (if anyone still trusts this, anyway :p )
     
  6. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #6
    I have the same Mac with the latest catalyst 14.11.2 Beta. Your D500 will be recognized as 7800 Series.

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop?os=Windows+7+-+64

    PD: I play BF4 at Medium 2560x1440 @ 60 fps locked.
     
  7. DrLemur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #7
    Thanks guys. I used the uninstaller tool to uninstall and then installed the driver you are using Ironjer but unfortunately still the same graphical issues. It's so weird because I'm playing FC4 which I had running maxed out with all the effects on etc.. looked and ran incredible and now it looks like it was made in 2006 and has draw distance issues and all sorts of problems. . Frame rate is good though. The only thing I can think was is maybe I had my Firepro centre settings set up a specific way and now it's reinstalled obviously it's all gone back to default. What do you keep your settings on typically Ironjer? Do you use crossfire etc? If I could get a screen of your settings even that might be helpful. This stuff is always so frustrating.
     
  8. Ironjer, Dec 4, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2014

    Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #8
    i havent
    I haven't touched anything only crossfire setting

    i would recommend you first reinstall directx library and disable and re-enable the crossfire setting.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. DrLemur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #9
    Cheers. That's how I have mine setup too.. Only sometimes if I have the "activate for applications" one checked certain games crap themselves so I have to turn it off.

    As for solving my issue I'm trying to reinstall Direct X but I have no idea how to on windows 8.1 as I think it's installed in the first place through windows update and there doesn't seem to be any easy method I can see of uninstalling it. If I have to reinstall windows again over this it's really gonna suck.. If anyone knows how to reinstall direct X please let me know. Running out of things to try.
     
  10. Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #10
    first unistall with the latest DDU http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/ following the instruction (safe mode) and delete AMD folder again.

    Install the latest Catalyst Beta.

    If you have Steam or Origin you can reinstall DirectX with their tools especially Steam have this tool or manually searching in the installation folder look for redist folder in Origin Game then BF4 _Installer directx redist and DXSETUP.EXE

    i would recommend you do this with latest game for example FARCRY 4.

    PD: my english isn't good ;)
     
  11. DrLemur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #11

    Ok so other stuff has gone horribly wrong all of a sudden.. Now whatever AMD driver I install I get "Package install error!" and it refuses both under custom and regular. I've cleaned and uninstalled with the tool each time and same thing! Grrr. So frustrating. Been on this all day. No idea what is suddenly causing this error. Not sure if it will make any sense to you or anyone (certainly doesn't to me) but here are my error logs..

    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="Report.xml.xsl"?>
    <monetreport xmlns:dt="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:datatypes">
    <general>
    <cmdline>-UI </cmdline>
    <time>12/06/14 01:02:09</time>
    <action>install</action>
    <download></download>
    </general>
    <dcm>
    <primary>
    <name>AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series</name>
    <manufacture>Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.</manufacture>
    <chiptype></chiptype>
    <chipid>0x679e</chipid>
    <vendorid>0x1002</vendorid>
    <ssid>0x0126</ssid>
    <ssvid>0x106b</ssvid>
    <classcode>0x030000</classcode>
    <revisionid>0x00</revisionid>
    </primary>
    <device>
    <name>AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series</name>
    <manufacture>Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.</manufacture>
    <chiptype></chiptype>
    <chipid>0xaaa0</chipid>
    <vendorid>0x1002</vendorid>
    <ssid>0x0125</ssid>
    <ssvid>0x106b</ssvid>
    <classcode>0x040300</classcode>
    <revisionid>0x00</revisionid>
    </device>
    <device>
    <name>AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series</name>
    <manufacture>Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.</manufacture>
    <chiptype></chiptype>
    <chipid>0x679e</chipid>
    <vendorid>0x1002</vendorid>
    <ssid>0x0125</ssid>
    <ssvid>0x106b</ssvid>
    <classcode>0x030000</classcode>
    <revisionid>0x00</revisionid>
    </device>
    <device>
    <name>AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series</name>
    <manufacture>Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.</manufacture>
    <chiptype></chiptype>
    <chipid>0xaaa0</chipid>
    <vendorid>0x1002</vendorid>
    <ssid>0x0126</ssid>
    <ssvid>0x106b</ssvid>
    <classcode>0x040300</classcode>
    <revisionid>0x00</revisionid>
    </device>
    </dcm>
    <exist>
    </exist>
    <install>
    <package>
    <description>AMD Catalyst Install Manager</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>8.0.916.0</version>
    <size>20 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    <description>Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x86)</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>11.0.50727</version>
    <size>9 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    <description>AMD Display Driver</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>14.301.1001.0000</version>
    <size>90 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    <description>HDMI Audio Driver</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>9.0.0.9905</version>
    <size>1 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    <description>Microsoft Visual C++ 2012 Redistributable (x64)</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>11.0.50727</version>
    <size>9 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    <description>AMD Accelerated Video Transcoding</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>13.30.100.40915</version>
    <size>3 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    <description>AMD FirePro Control Center</description>
    <result>Succeed</result>
    <version>2014.0915.1813.30937</version>
    <size>150 </size>
    </package>
    </install>
    <uninstall>
    </uninstall>
    <downloaded>
    </downloaded>
    <resource>
    <hwinfo>Hardware information</hwinfo>
    <existpkg>Existing packages</existpkg>
    <pkg2inst>Packages for install</pkg2inst>
    <pkg2uninst>Packages for uninstall</pkg2uninst>
    <otherdev>Other detected devices</otherdev>
    <errmsg>Error messages</errmsg>
    <name>Name</name>
    <manufacture>Manufacturer</manufacture>
    <chiptype>Chip type</chiptype>
    <chipid>Device ID</chipid>
    <otherhw>Other hardware</otherhw>
    <download>Download packages</download>
    <succeed>Success</succeed>
    <fail>Fail</fail>
    <vendorid>Vendor ID</vendorid>
    <classcode>Class Code</classcode>
    <revisionid>Revision ID</revisionid>
    <ssid>Subsystem ID</ssid>
    <ssvid>Subsystem vendor ID</ssvid>
    <header1>Catalyst™ Install Manager</header1>
    <header2>Installation Report</header2>
    <finalstatus>Final Status:</finalstatus>
    <versionofitem>Version of Item:</versionofitem>
    <size>Size:</size>
    <bytes>Mbytes</bytes>
    </resource>
    <error><msg>Application Install: install package failure!</msg></error></monetreport>
     
  12. markyr17 macrumors 65816

    markyr17

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    #12

    looks like you'll be doing a reinstall soon
     
  13. xav8tor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #13
    Assuming I can wade through the various issues others have had uninstalling the supplied workstation drivers and installing the "gaming" drivers for the d500, what kind of performance increases in FPS can one expect, especially in single threaded games/sims running OpenGL in Win 7?
     
  14. DrLemur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #14
    Okay just to update. Out of frustration I kept on installing / uninstalling the latest 14.9 drivers despite the fact that I was getting the "package failed to install!" message when it got to the firepro control centre at the end.. So then I thought.. "Well maybe it just failed to install the control centre" as that seems to be the only thing missing. I tried some games anyway and bam everything works amazingly, my fps is reasonable again, anti aliasing is back. Everything looks great in all my games. I'm just gonna leave it since it somehow works even if I don't understand why it didn't all the other times I installed the driver in the same way..

    But anyway is it really that bad that I don't have the control centre? I'd rather live without it than reinstall my whole system. Thanks heaps to those of you who have persevered with this thread.
     
  15. DrLemur, Dec 6, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2014

    DrLemur thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    #15
    Nope it all went to crap again. Reverted to a restore point where it all used to work and it still didn't.. Officially makes no sense.. I give up I'm gonna reinstall the whole damn system.
     

Share This Page