Mac Pro to Cinema Display - Extension Cables

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ivandovich, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Ivandovich macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #1
    I need to order an extension cable for my Cinema HD display to my mac pro (2006 models), but I'm a bit confused since there's also a Firewire and USB plug coming out of the Cinema Display (that supposed to connect to the mac pro), do I need to get extensions for those as well?
    I need a 15' extension for all cables, hoping there isn't any loss of quality.

    Also, is this the right DVI extension?
    As far as I can tell the plug coming from the Cinema display is a DVI-D single Link while the plug into the Mac Pro is a DVI-D Dual Link. Will the Dual Link Extension still work?
    http://www.datapro.net/products/dvi-d-dual-link-extension-cable.html

    Also, What is the best place to order this?

    Any help Appreciated!

    Thanks!

    Eivind
     
  2. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #2
    You should extend all of the cables for full functionality.

    Get a single link cable. Dual-link cables cannot plug into single-link ports.

    I made the mistake of getting a dual link cable for a single-link display, so then I had to pull the extra pins out with pliers in order to use the cable.
     
  3. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Hello,

    Don't really need to extend the cables you don't use, right?

    Get your cables at monoprice.com. Great selection, very fast shipping and good prices.

    Loa
     
  4. Ryan P macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    #4
    I did not have good luck with a 15' extender to my Cinema that was a combo Display Port/USB Cable. I think when you add the 2' USB the monitor comes with plus the 15' it just gets too long and the connection was quite flakey. On the new Cinema's the USB is used to control the Brightness, so it is actually quite necessary, but I think on yours you still have the buttons on the side.

    I ended up running a very short USB extension about 2' to a USB hub, which is actually convenient as that is where I put a Bluetooth dongle to fix range issues I was having with that as well.
     
  5. mrt209 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Location:
    USA/Germany
    #5
    You need to extend the usb as well to be able to control the display's brightness.

    From what I've heard, the 2 in 1 extension cables for the ACD don't work well, so just buy a usb extension separately.

    Here's a good usb extension cable by Amazon if you need it: http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-...6?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1297760962&sr=1-6
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    My recommendation was to extend them all for full functionality.

    If you don't use the keyboard brightness controls, USB hub, or Firewire hub, then yes, you don't need to extend the USB and firewire cables.
     
  7. DeeEss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #7
    I have heard from numerous sources that extension cables for these monitors create issues with the signal effecting colour.
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8

Share This Page