Mac Pro Upgrade help..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ivangough, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. ivangough macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    #1
    Hey all..

    Just bought a 2009 Mac Pro 8 core (2x2.26 Quad Nehalem) machine and I want to upgrade the CPU. I'm looking for info online, or from someone who has done this. I've got a computer tech mate who will do the job, I just need to know what chips I can get for it, and what's the best way to go. (ie: how to avoid breaking things!) Then I'll add memory, drives, and possibly update the graphics card.

    Anyone done this?
     
  2. ivangough, Nov 22, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2011

    ivangough thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    #2
    Ok I have dome some research and figured out I can apparently install any Intel 55xx or 56xx processor. The problem is these units do not have latched CPU's, and there are no CPU covers in the MAC. Has anyone got advice here? I'm using the unit for music production and want a decent amount of firepower for a good price..

    As an alternative can I buy a 2010 CPU board with latches, put it in then sell the 2009 board?
     
  3. DasShrubber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    #3
  4. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #4
    You should have probably done this research before you bought it tbh. :/

    If it's possible, I'd replace the 4,1 Dual CPU board with a 5,1 Single CPU board, and get a W3670/W3680. You'd have to flash the EFI with the 5,1 firmware (google this) to take the W36x0 series.

    I'm not sure if that's possible though, as I don't know if there are any substantial differences between the 4,1 dual cpu logic board and the 5,1 single cpu logic board that would prevent this from working.
     
  5. ivangough thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    #5
    Thanks for the replies all! FWIW I only just found this site, and wish I'd seen it last week! I've looked around and cannot figure out if the 2010 CPU board will go into the 2009 model. It might be better to go for 2 of the 5590 chips, as they seem to work ok in this machine.
     

Share This Page