Mac Pro upgrade path

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mcfx, Jul 14, 2013.

  1. mcfx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #1
    Hi All,

    My friend is selling his two Mac Pros, a MC560LL/A with 1x 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem” and a MC561LL/A with 2x 2.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Westmere” CPUs.

    I am planning to get the cheaper one and swap the CPUs with my two X5690 (Westmere) Xeons I have in my server (PC). Will the upgrade work if I buy his Quad-Core Nehalem Mac Pro or should I buy the Quad Core Westmere?

    They are both from Mid 2010 - per apple's support website both SKUs allow ugprading to the 6-core Westmere Xeon (http://support.apple.com/kb/sp589)

    What do you think?
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
  3. mcfx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #3
    Wouldn't both MC560LL/A and MC561LL/A come with a tray though?
    I thought the CPUs are mounted on a tray anyway since the motherboard doesn't have sockets.
     
  4. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #4
    Note the capitalized part
     
  5. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    #5
    The Dual CPU system comes with a tray that holds 2 cpus.
    The Single CPU system comes with a tray that holds 1 cpu.

    So you can make a Single CPU into a Dual CPU only if you also have a dual CPU daughter board, heatsinks, etc....
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    Single CPU

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    Dual CPU

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

  8. mcfx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
  9. applegeek897 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    #9
    Yes if you buy the Single 2.8Ghz quad, you can only a single CPU
     
  10. willgreene99 macrumors regular

    willgreene99

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Location:
    DFW
    #10
    Piggy-Backing on this thread --

    I just purchased a dual 6-core 2.4Ghz Mac Pro 5,1 Mid-2012

    When I save up more, can I upgrade the CPU's to the 3.06Ghz's at a later date?
     
  11. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #11
    Yes you can upgrade this to 3.06ghz or you can also upgrade this to a higher 3.33ghz at 12 cores, that would be the Xeon 5680 Westmere. There was a member here who upgraded his 2012 2.4ghz 12core to a 3.33ghz 12 core. Maybe by next year prices of the Westmere may go down and might be a good time to upgrade.
     
  12. mcfx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #13
    I also have 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC from my server, will it work in the Mac Pro or do I need Apple approved memory?

    I don't know how it is with the Mac Pros but I was able to use my "pc memory" to upgrade my MacBook Pro.
     
  13. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #14
    Your functioning ECC DDR3 will work.

    The correct spelling for "Apple-Approved" is "Wa$te Your Dollar$"
     
  14. mcfx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #15
    I took the plunge and bought a Mid 2010 Mac Pro with 2x 2.66 six core CPUs that I'm going to replace with my X5690. The cost of the dual CPU tray ($650), heatsinks ($280 each) and hassle to get my X5690 working on a 2009 Mac Pro would have not justified IMO. At least I can sell the stock CPUs and memory :rolleyes:
     
  15. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    #16
    Haha, laugh of the day. Sadly your´r right !
     
  16. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #17

Share This Page