Mac Pro upgrade processor

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jamesjingyi, Dec 18, 2015.

  1. jamesjingyi macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi, just a quick question. I know that the processor in the Mac Pro is user upgradeable but just wondering whether I can put a core i7 in place of the current Xeon Quad core. It has the same socket type LGA2011 (I think), just wondering whether OS X will recognise it?

    Thanks
     
  2. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #2
    xcodeSyn posted this in another thread....


    Here's the link to the thread he posted in if you want to read up some more.... http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...-2-26-to-dual-2-93-ghz.1523036/#post-16651132
     
  3. jamesjingyi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #3
  4. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
  5. bokkow macrumors regular

    bokkow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #5
    EXCEPT! The Mac Pro uses S1366, not S2011, be carefull which CPU you're going to buy.
    In the single CPU Mac Pro you can indeed use consumer grade i7's, you can use 920 to 990X but why not look for the Xeon equivalent? They are roughly the same price and maybe even a bit cheaper!
     
  6. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #6
    No, the current Mac Pro uses socket LGA2011.

    You should be able to use an i7, but with the limitations listed above. Quite frankly, I don't believe there is much of a benefit to "upgrade" to an i7 because the cost savings are minimal (if any).

    The Broadwell chips that the MacPro speculators are waiting on use the LGA2011-3 socket, so you will not be able to use them as an upgrade (much like the currently available Haswell Xeons). The Skylake cpus next in line will likely use a different socket as well, further blurring any speculation whether or not Apple will even bother with Broadwell at all.
     
  7. bokkow macrumors regular

    bokkow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Are we talking Mac Pro 5.1 or 6.1? I saw 5.1 so that's why I said S1366, otherwise you're right indeed!
     
  8. handsome pete macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    #8
    I assumed 6.1 since he said "current Xeon quad core."
     
  9. jamesjingyi thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jamesjingyi

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Yes, sorry I do mean the 'trashcan' -esque designed one. Might just stick with my quad core until I have enough for the 8 core version which I think will be better suited for my needs. Thanks for your help!
     

Share This Page