Mac Pro users don't get toe play Lost Planet??

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by digiegg, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. digiegg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #1
    Minimum: Windows® XP, Intel® Pentium® 4 supporting HT technology or AMD Athlon™ 64 3500+ or greater, 512 MB RAM (Windows XP) / 1 GB RAM (Windows Vista), 8.0 GB free disk space, 640x480 minimum resolution, 256 MB VRAM, DirectX®9.0c / Shader3.0*, NVIDIA® GeForce® 6600 or greater**, DirectSound compatible. DirectX®9.0c, Mouse, Keyboard, Broadband connection (Internet connection required to play.)

    Recommended: Windows Vista™, Intel® Core™2 Duo, 1 GB RAM (Windows XP) / 2 GB RAM (Windows Vista), 1280x720 or higher resolution, 256 MB VRAM, NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600 or greater, Gamepad, Xbox 360™ Controller for Windows®

    * Operation not assured if VRAM is shared with Main Memory.
    ** NVIDIA® GeForce® 7300 is not supported.



    http://www.steampowered.com/v/index.php?area=game&AppId=6510&cc=US



    I've been interested in this game for awhile now... but I guess our vid cards won't handle them?
     
  2. Cromulent macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #2
    The 7300 was never meant to be a gaming card in all honesty. It is vastly underpowered when to compared to the rest of the components in a Mac Pro.
     
  3. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #3
    It'll probably run fine.

    Why? Because not supported may just mean they dont offer support if the product doesnt work right with the card.

    Plus then, the Mac Pro card is a 7300GT, which is a decent card for low-end/beginning mid-range activities.

    Quake 4 didnt support the Radeon 9600 cards, and yet, I was able to run it perfectly fine on my 9600SE at 800x600 Medium.
     
  4. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #4
    Well I guess not if you only got the 7300GT with your Mac Pro. If you were interested in gaming should've gotten the X1900XT. :) I ran the Lost Planet demo alright, though frankly, it reeks of "bad console port".
     
  5. digiegg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    #5
    I just ran it. It's so bad... u can barely move... this is sad Mac Pro..
     

Share This Page