Mac Pro Using Lots of RAM Idle

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jakesaunders27, May 10, 2014.

  1. jakesaunders27 macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    Hi All,
    Just wondering why my Mac Pro is using nearly 7GB RAM sitting idle? Anyone know why? I have Safari, Mail and Activity monitor open along with Caffine & Dropbox in the background.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. theSeb, May 10, 2014
    Last edited: May 10, 2014

    theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #2
    What do you mean by sitting idle? It's being used. Probably as "file cache", or other stuff. That's what an operating system should do - use available memory to make things faster and then release it when it is actually needed by an application. If this keeps you up at night, then open the terminal and type

    Code:
    sudo purge
    
    
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Yeah I have no problem with it using so much RAM as I have plenty more but just wondering.
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    The subject of memory management is not something that I want to try and explain in a short post after a couple of vodkas. :)
     
  5. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    Haha!
     
  6. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #6
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    That's completely normal. The OS is decided to fully utilise your hardware.
     
  8. AidenShaw, May 11, 2014
    Last edited: May 11, 2014

    AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #8
    Word-smithing might be in order

    Some systems don't count file caches and other releasable memory as "in use", so that the available memory counter shows a more realistic value.

    My system right now has 1.7 GiB of "free" memory and 19.5 GiB in the cache - for 21.2 GiB "available".
     

    Attached Files:

  9. jakesaunders27 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jakesaunders27

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Location:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page