Mac Pro vs. iMac (graphic artist)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by delima, May 13, 2008.

1. delima macrumors newbie

'Ello everyone. I'm new to macs, well I have a general knowledge about them, but I have never owned one.

Anyways I'm thinking about buying one. I'm a graphic artist and while I do some heavy photoshop work (300ppi files pretty much 24/7) I don't really do much more as far as intensity maybe a little bit of after effects here and there. Illustrator and Dreamweaver is about the only other apps I use.

So my question is....Should I get a Mac Pro or iMac.

I have Mac Pro configured as: 2.8Ghz, 4GB ram, 500GB hd, 8800GT = 3500.

The iMac configured as: 3Ghz, 4GB ram, 750GB ram, 8800 = 2500

So that's 1 grand difference. Lot of money. I'm just wondering if I would suffer (as far as lag, slow downs...etc) if I went with the iMac vs. the Mac. Would it be worth the extra 1K in the end...:confused:

2. Jack Flash macrumors 65816

Welly, one thing you might consider is the glossy screen on the iMac might not be suitable for professional work. But, then again, it might not matter.

3. Aea macrumors 6502a

Aea

The Mac Pro would be marginally faster, but when you consider the high end iMac has an S-IPS panel and is pretty much in the same ballpark, I think the iMac is a better choice.

Plus, with that extra difference you could pick up a cintiq if you don't have one already and feel like you'll need it :)

4. Resist macrumors 68030

Actually the glossy screen IS for professional work.

5. teknikal90 macrumors 68030

teknikal90

how is it for professional work when the blacks are blacker, the contrast is unnatural and the colors are more vibrant.

MATTE FTW!!!

haha.im such a nerd.

6. aviationalyours macrumors member

aviationalyours

iMac

Unless you are doing 1000ppi then you would not even notice a difference. + The iMac is hassle free. So go for iMac