Mac Pro vs iMac Using Parallels

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by blasto333, Apr 25, 2007.

  1. blasto333 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #1
    mac pro dual 2.33 ghz
    2gb ram

    vs

    iMac 24' 2.16ghz
    2gb ram


    How will the performance compare when using Parallels? If they are relatively close the iMac 24' is a better purchase choice for me. (Of course when the new models come out)
     
  2. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #2
    This depends on what your doing in parallels and what else your doing at the same time on the system. The Mac pro is a faster system no doubt.
     
  3. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #3
    Plz do not insult the Mac Pro by comparing it to such a lousy computer, thanks :)
     
  4. blasto333 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #4
    Apps in Parallels
    Visual Studio 2005, Visio, MS Office, Firefox, IE...

    I have a mac mini now and it just kills my system when I launch parallels. (That must not happen)
     
  5. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #5
    That may be a RAM issue it would recommend no less then 2gb of RAM for parallels. So do you plan on running all those things at the same time? And what type of OS X apps would you run at the same time?
     
  6. blasto333 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #6
    Not at the same time, 2 at the most. (In parallels)

    On the mac I would have iTunes and Safari. (at the same time)

    I just need my computer to be reponsive!
     
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
    Do you mean dual 2.66GHz? :eek:


    I would imagine that either computer would work fine for you blasto333. :)
     
  8. user13 macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #8
    I second that. It is very important to have not less than two Gigs of RAM when running Parallels - then Windows will run at almost native speed and Parallels will work optimally.
    The performance also depends on the type of both Windoze and Mac apps. It has been already said
    Mac Pro will definitely work faster.
    Mac Pro dual 2.33 ghz
    2gb ram - Parallels, I deem, will run well on this machine
     
  9. blasto333 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    #9
    I probably should have mentioned this, I plan to run Windows Vista. (I got it for free through my school)
     
  10. user13 macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #10
    Well, I'd take Mac Pro then. I think it will run Vista fine in Parallels:)
     
  11. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    Remember the Mac Mini has trouble with the VT flag. Basically sometimes it works with full virtualisation and sometimes it works like VPC used to, emulating windows. There has been a lot of discussion about this over on the parallels forums. It seems to be a firmware/bios issue with the Mac mini.

    Unfortunately it also affectes the Mac Pro too. So the Mac Pro might run quite slow.

    However with Virtualisation then of course the Mac Pro will be faster than an iMac. Not by much mind you.
     
  12. user13 macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #12
    I'll post a link to the Parallels Forum here - http://forum.parallels.com/

    It has been really helpful concerning some issues with Parallels I encountered.
    Everything depends on the RAM in fact. The more RAM you have the faster Parallels runs. And 2 Gigs are optimal - this has been the talk of the town on forums lately
     

Share This Page