Mac Pro vs iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SuperMiguel, Oct 31, 2011.

  1. SuperMiguel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #1
    Sofor around the same price $3500 i can get a high end 27" iMac or a low end Mac Pro with a Apple LED Cinema Display

    Mac Pro: $2500 with out monitor
    One 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon “Nehalem”
    3GB (3x1GB)
    1TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s hard drive
    ATI Radeon HD 5770 1GB

    iMac: $3000
    3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
    4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x2GB
    2TB Serial ATA Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive

    AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2GB GDDR5

    Im an Computer Engineering Student, do a lot of programming on it, and play world of warcraft...

    I will update both system to SSD and memory to 16GB
     
  2. lamboman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #2
    In this case, the iMac will be a quicker machine by a fair amount than the Mac Pro. The price difference really does make this a no-brainer in my opinion.
     
  3. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #3
    How about the base dual CPU one? The one with 2 2.4 Ghz Xeon is $3500
     
  4. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #4
    Programming really won't benefit from more cores, so that one will be slower. For what you need, the Mac Pro is simply a waste of money.
     
  5. lamboman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #5
    This.

    The new iMacs are really fast enough for most career professionals, and will definitely be enough for programming.
     
  6. steveca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #6
    i would really love to own a mac pro but as I see it most iMacs are great for most uses with the added benefit of a built in display...
     
  7. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #7
    Umm I was Actually more concern about the video card
     
  8. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #8
    The 6970m in the iMac is comparable to the 5770 in the Mac Pro. Either one could very easily handle WoW
     
  9. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    In this case the Mac Pro only benefit would be "bragging rights". I don't play games but for programming *any* Mac model with a big display (or two!) will be fine.
     
  10. lamboman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #10
    The base dual processor model's card is the same as the base single processor's...5770.

    If you do a CTO Mac Pro, the 5870 is available and is faster than the 6970M in the iMac. Worth it though? Definitely not.
     
  11. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #11
    iMac it is then :)
     
  12. vitzr macrumors 68030

    vitzr

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #12
    I could not agree more.

    In addition, when not needed a Mac Pro has a few distinct disadvantages. If you wanted to simply move it from one room to the next, it's more time consuming because of the cables and it's modular nature with everything being separate. It's heavier and requires a lot more room, and so at the end of the day there is a lot to be said for an iMac if it meets your performance requirements.
     
  13. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #13
    If it means anything the 5870 is twice as fast as the 6870m. So it may be worth it as gamers pay $400-500 for 20% improvements year over year.
     
  14. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #14
    Only play wow
     
  15. EricT43 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #15
    27" iMac with the upgraded video runs WoW just fine. I haven't played for a while, but I think I have it on medium/high settings at full res and getting around 40fps.
     
  16. iSayuSay, Oct 31, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2011

    iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #16
    I'd love to have iMac (edit: oops I mean MacPro :p) for its expandability and safer long run .. I mean come on .. my iMac has been running hot at times and I'm afraid it couldn't handle too much things.

    MacPro on the other side can be much cooler due to a lot of breath room, but yeah .. the form factor looks like a regular PC tower except the case is a nice carved aluminum. But then it's the only Mac with largest-user-upgradeablity.

    But still, MacPro is almost dead in the water. If you see the history, it's never a big interest for Apple to build separated PC tower like any other PC company, Apple II to original Macintosh, all of them are all-in-one concept. And also read the newest front page entry and you'll see. MacPro held no foreseeable future :(

    Unless you wanna to have the last-gen MacPro and be different, but no future upgrades, I'd say go iMac.
     
  17. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #17
    Then you're good.
     
  18. SR20DETDOG macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    Queensland Australia
    #18
    I don't know, I've done a number of 30hr+ plus renders (CPU is at 800% constantly) with my iMac and many more 5-15hr renders alongside some mild Photoshop work and normal daily usage. It's never had any problems so far, temps are usually in the mid 50°C range, though I may regret saying this 2years down the track :p I'm pretty faithful that the iMac can handle the abuse though.
     
  19. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #19
    -Never mind-

    sorry ... wrong post, at the wrong place and a wrong time :rolleyes:
     
  20. Dnix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #20
    Macrumors is always abuzz with hype and....gasp....rumors?

    Don't start putting nails in the coffin, until it's actually dead. :cool:
     
  21. lamboman, Nov 1, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2011

    lamboman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #21
    But the iMac doesn't have the 6870M as an option. The 6970M is a fair bit faster, around 40%.
     
  22. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #22
    Mmmmmm
     
  23. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #23
    Isn't upgrading the HDD in the iMac a total pain in the ass?
     
  24. SuperMiguel thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    #24
    Yup
     
  25. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #25
    Which is why you buy it with as large a drive as you expect to need, and if you need more, use externals or a server. My 2 year old iMac has a 1 TB drive, 1/3 filled, but I've got a server with about 4 TB of data.

    And even the Promise Thunderbolt RAID drives look cheap compared to a Mac Pro:

    27" iMac with 3.4GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB internal hard drive, 4x2GB Promise box, AppleCare is $4467.

    Mac Pro, 3.2 GHz quad-core Xeon, 16 GB RAM, 4x2 TB hard drives (fills box), RAID card, Apple Cinema Display is $6672, or about 50% more expensive.
     

Share This Page