Mac Pro vs PC.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Snjper, Mar 26, 2015.

  1. Snjper macrumors newbie

    Snjper

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    Hi all, I wonder if a MAC PRO (5.1) 3.33GHz 16GB (6 Core) 2010 is more powerful than a I7 4790 K (32 gb pc) using it for video editing.


    Some friends say that are the same as power, what do you think?


    thank you.


    :)
     
  2. DougTheImpaler macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    #2
    It depends in part on what application you'll be using, as well as how well optimized that app is for the Mac platform vs the Windows platform, and whether or not that app supports OpenCL and then what video cards are installed.

    If the app uses all the CPU threads it can get, then the 6-core Mac Pro will outrun the 4790K. The Haswell CPU has better single-core performance and a faster clock speed, but the Mac Pro has 50% more cores. If you can use cores 5 and 6, then I think the Mac is a winner.
     
  3. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
  4. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #4
    I enter on the topic, but an 8-core Mac Pro 2008 SSD 32 GB RAM 250 GB GTX 960 instead will be on a par with a I7 4790 K to make video editing with premiere pro cc?
    thank you
     
  5. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #5
    The Devil's Canyon or Skylake leaves the Westmere in the dust and then you have the benefit of modern I/O ports and peripherals

    The quad core 4790K or 6700K will make that Mac look like a turtle in real world use.
     
  6. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #6
    [QUOTE = "SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, posta: 22369035, Membro: 976,766"] del Diavolo Canyon o Skylake Lascia la Westmere Nella polvere e poi Avete il Vantaggio di moderne porte di I / O e Periferiche


    Il 4790K o 6700K nucleo quad Fara Che Mac sembrare Una tartaruga in uso mondo reale. [/ CITAZIONE]


    :(
     
  7. 996085 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    #7
    Great advice in the first paragraph but I'm not sure I would agree with the second. Even though the Mac Pro has an additional 2 cores the higher IPC and clock speed of the 4790K may mean the 4790K is the faster system. This one is a close call and it seems benchmarks based on the applications you will use would be the only way to know.
     
  8. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #8
    then you say it depends on what applications you use it?

    well I should I use premiere pro DC 2015 Full HD with a Mac Pro 2008 8-core + 32 + gb ram gtx 960 + ssd 250 gb.

    potre work well and the performance would be very close to a I7 4790 K or I would be much lower?

    thank you
     
  9. toples50 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    #9
    In my work I have tested a HP PC with i7-6700 and it is slightly slower in geekbench and cinebench than a 6 core 3.33 Mac Pro.
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #11
    I prefer evidence over anecdotes. The 6700K beats the X5680 in Geekbench by quite a margin.

    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/4459743
    Vs
    http://browser.primatelabs.com/geekbench3/4548115

    The Skylake iMac beats the X5680 Mac Pro in almost any test.

    http://barefeats.com/imac5k18.html

    A desktop Skylake has better cooling and performs even better than the iMac and has official support for overclocking. The affordability of a Skylake desktop means the Westmere cMP is no longer a good choice unless someone really needs 12 cores for rendering, but GPUs are doing a better job on that side.
     
  11. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #13
  12. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #14
    I think what's really being left out of this is; if you're using premiere and not FCP why are you using a Mac?
     
  13. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #15
    #14



    What I do not quite understand, even on other forums where I posed the same question is an 8-core Mac Pro 2008 with premiere pro DC 2015, and slower than a 4790 K I7 right?
    I agree, but how much slower ??

    Here I do not understand this, if an I 7 4790 K works for example with a score of 10 points, the Mac Pro 2008 How many points will ?? perhaps 5 or 6? or maybe 9?

    I mean if the difference between mac vs pc is little then it is fine a mac pro.

    Do you understand ??

    thank you
     
  14. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #16
    If a 4790K is 10 the '08 is 6 but you shouldn't base a decision around a single spec heck if I used premiere for a living I wouldn't even use a 4790 or any 1150/1151 processor. IME with adobe stuff there is a great deal of performance to be had outside just you're processor. If premiere is your editing suit of choice then you loose quite a bit of flexibility by dropping it onto a Mac particularly an old one.

    Lets start from the beginning leaving the Mac out of it what is it you want to edit and how much are you willing to spend and see what we can come up with. You should probably head over to creative cow and the adobe forums too if you are doing this to make a living you need to be setup correctly so you can just get onto doing it vs trying to make stuff work.
     
  15. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #17
    OK thanks friend I finally got the answer I wanted to know.

    I7 vote 10 mac pro 6 vote in this case I do not looks good the mac pro, rather a 7 I also do not do editing profession but only as a hobby,

    then take a mac pro 2008 + 32 + gb ram gtx 960+ ssd 250 gb is not convenient as I understand.

    The better a 7 4790 (or 6700 The 7 k) with 32 + gb ssd 250 gb + gtx 960 and eventually spend less but I will have a lot but much more power.

    am I right?

    thank you
     
  16. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #18
    Yes plus a newer computer has better I/O options for video capture.
     
  17. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #19

    The GTX 960 isn't supported according to Adobe whether the list is updated I don't know.

    https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/system-requirements.html

    Try a 5820K build and see where that takes you, that's why I asked what you were willing to spend.
     
  18. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #20
    I guess what I'm getting at is building a PC to do something specific (which has been the traditional definition of a workstation) is different than just building a general purpose PC. General build guidelines, specs, and old rules of thumb generally don't apply. To use a dreaded car analogy; a race cars, or offroad trucks aren't good street cars or commuter cars.
     
  19. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #21
  20. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #22
    That's a hack to add support

    It looks like the same one that Mac users have been using to add support. The problem is if you give Adobe a call they're going to tell you that it's not supported and not offer any help.
     
  21. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #23
    The system requirements page hasn't been updated for ages.
     
  22. Parsuto macrumors member

    Parsuto

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #24
    Capisco la situazione, ma una domanda sorge spontanea, se invece di Premiere pro CC 2015 ho usato fcpx e ho lavorato in Full HD, ma la conversione in Apple Pro Res 422 ??

    con un 8-core Mac Pro 2008, il potere sarebbe meglio ?? rispetto ad un k 7 4790?
    scusate per le tante domande, ma mi dispiace di lasciare Apple e Mac Pro a passare a Windows !!!!

    grazie
     
  23. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #25
    Does the old Mac have an AMD card? It would also depend on how it converts to pro res...

    Please remember that while this is a Mac Pro and it was powerful for it's day it's also a 7 years old.
     

Share This Page