Mac Pro w. ATi HD 4870 and ACD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Killerbob, Jul 12, 2012.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    Hi,

    I finally caved in and installed Windows 7 in Bootcamp so I can play some games. I have always just run Windows in Parallels, and it always just worked.

    Anyways, I have the Mac Pro with a new videocard in it, the ATi HD 4870, and it is connected via Displayport to my 27" ACD.

    Now when I reboot into Windows 7, it reverts to VGA every single time. I then reinstall the Catalyst drivers (I tried the Apple provided ones and the newest AMD ones), and it goes to full resolution, and it works just fine. I reboot, and it is back to VGA.

    ANy takers? I only found some old posts to do with the DP connection between the Mac Pro and the ACD, but surely that has been fixed?

    /Bo
     
  2. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #2
    Anyone? This is still bugging me, and I can't figure out anything I have done wrong.

    /Bo
     
  3. minifridge1138 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
  4. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #4
    I bought the upgrade card from Apple, and have no problems in OSX. It is recognised as an ATi Radeon HD 4870, w. 512MB VRAM.

    It is recognised in Windows as an ATi Radeon HD48xx card.

    /Bo
     
  5. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #5
    The 4870 is not a new card, it is quite old. I don't know you bought it from Apple, they stopped selling it a long time ago.

    What did you pay for it? You should probably return it and get a 5770 or 5870.
     
  6. xav8tor macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #6
    Clean out the drivers and start from scratch. My 4870 works perfectly well in Boot Camp via the minidisplayport. I don't recall jumping through any hoops when I installed Windows either as far as drivers go.
     
  7. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #7
    It may be quite old, but it is the most updated graphics card you can officially install in the Early 2008 Mac Pro. I got the upgrade just before the ATi sent out the HD5870 for the 2009 Mac Pro, and yes I know some people have the HD5870 working int he 2008 Mac Pro, but a lot of people are also having problems with this combination.

    However, I don't need to upgrade. The 4870 is performing OK when playing games in Windows in Bootcamp. Actually I can play MW3 with the highest settings, and it runs smoothly.

    My 2 CPU / 8 Core, 16GB RAM Mac Pro still performs faster than I need. I upgraded the graphics card, and I use an SSD drive for the OS, and I have no reason to upgrade to a newer Mac Pro.

    /Bo
     
  8. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #8
    I wasn't trying to diss your card; I agree it's a great card. I'm just confused that you called it "new" in your original post and thought you might have made a noob mistake. It's clear to me now that you know what you're doing.
     

Share This Page