Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MaddieBrad

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 8, 2007
New York City
Hey guys,

So... I am a photographer / videographer that has been working on a 17" 2.5Ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro (pre-alu) with 4GB of RAM. I work extensively in Photoshop, Lightroom, Final Cut Pro 7 & Suite. Now here is the info that makes this question interesting... I also enjoy some online gaming with FPS games like COD, and Battlefield. Historically I used my MacBook Pro for work, and then had a custom built PC rig for gaming. I have decided that I need more power on my MAC so I am going to upgrade to a Mac Pro, and ditch the PC. The hope is that I can bootcamp it and squeeze both work and play into one machine. SO.....

Explain to me what I want as far as the cores go. I can't afford the 12 core so that is not even in the mix. I am trying to decide if I should get a 8 Core 2.4Ghz machine, or do I go for the 3.33Ghz 6 core? I want the best of both worlds. I realize that memory and GPU's play a factor, but that stuff can be tweaked later. I intend to run no less than 8 Gigs of RAM (hopefully more) and I will probably upgrade the GPU to something quicker, or maybe dual GPU it.

I hope that someone can help me out!

Thanks in advance!

Brad

DisMyMac

macrumors 65816
Sep 30, 2009
I'd buy a new mini for now, and then sell or re-purpose it when the Pro is updated fairly soon.

(Note- Apple may end the Pro, which is something else to consider.)

Zwhaler

macrumors 604
Jun 10, 2006
For what you do I would go with the 3.33GHz 6-core. Upgrade to the HD5870 if you plan on running a large (24+ inches) display.

By the way your MBP isn't pre-alu it's pre unibody.

MaddieBrad

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 8, 2007
New York City
I'd buy a new mini for now, and then sell or re-purpose it when the Pro is updated fairly soon.