Mac Pro will only boot into Windows XP Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tangerine, Apr 20, 2007.

  1. Tangerine macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #1
    My Mac Pro is only displaying the Windows XP Drive everytime I hold down the option key, it's the only choice available now. It also only boot into Windows even if I don't have option key hold down. I try taking out the Hard Drive that contain Windows XP and now all I get is a gray screen. It is possible that I hold down the option key too much to boot into Windows XP all the time that the boot rom is broken? I have try all possible ways but all hope is lost at this point. Any help would be greatly appreciated. :eek:

    Here is what I have done.

    - Re - Install Mac OS X Archieve and Install
    - Re - Install Mac OS X Upgrade Option
    - Repaired Disk (No problem founds_
    - Repaired Permission
    - ZAP PRam

    The only option I havent try is Deleting the Hard Drive and Re-Installing Mac OS X. But I don't want to do that if it doesn't solved the problem. Since I re-install Mac OS X and it still won't bootup. Do you guys think this is my Mac Pro Hardware problem or something with the Hard Drive? It's strange, I think it's Karma because I alway boot into Windows, now my Mac Pro only boot into Windows. :( :( :(
     
  2. akadmon macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    I don't have any bright ideas, but you could try installing OS X on another internal hard drive, then recover whatever you need from the one you've been using.
     
  3. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    When booted into Windows, open the StartupDisk control panel and change to your OS X Install.

    And no, you cannot break the boot ROM.

    The jumpers are correct on the other drive?
     
  4. diehardmacfan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    #4
    you might have to do a clean install by deleting the osx disk and then reinstalling it

    it will give you a clean start

    thats what I would do
     
  5. Tangerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #5
    I try opening Startup Disk on Windows and only Windows XP is displaying. But when I try startup from Mac OS X CD, it show Mac OS X and all the files is on there. I'm using Sata Hard Drive so no jumper is neccessary, if I put jumper on it limit the Hard Drive. It work fine without any jumper before so I don't think it's the jumper. Think I will try buy a new Hard Drive and re-installing Mac OS X. Should I get one at Best Buy?
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Of course you're right, no jumpers. If all your files are on there, definitely don't mess with it anymore and get yourself another SATA drive from where ever you want to install OS X on it, and then pull your data from the funky one.
     
  7. Tangerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #7
    Can anyone Recommend me a good Western Digital Hard Drive and where to buy it? I try buying a Western Digital Sata Hard Drive and turn out it doesn't work. Even it use a Sata interface it required a Power Adapter to plug-in. The one I have right now is Seagate 320GB which I bought from NewEgg. It only been couple of month and I couldn't boot it up anymore. I don't know if it's the Hard Drive itself yet. There a fews cheap Western Digital Hard Drive on NewEgg but it doesn't show the back, so I don't want to end up with a wrong one again. Only one that show the back is the Seagate, but I wonder if Seagate is any good.
     
  8. akadmon macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    I recently got a WD5000AAKS for my Mac Pro. It works great.
     
  9. Tangerine thread starter macrumors regular

    Tangerine

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    #9
    I was going to go ahead and get this one, but I don't see the picture in the back interface so I don't know if it required a molex power adapter. It look like a good Hard Drive with nice reviews, but the Seagate have more reviews and people recommended it more for quietness and performance. I decided to go with 500GB Seagate and install a fresh new Mac OS X on it. I hope it will be fine after that. I can't believe the bad luck I have suddenly a brand name hard drive such as Seagate, where I heard so many good reviews decided to crap out on me. Hope it just the Hard Drive and nothing serious. Am I going in the wrong direction putting trust onto Seagate? Main reason why I get Seagate again because I already have 2 Seagate in my Mac Pro.
     

Share This Page