Mac Pro with 3 cpu slots.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by 0x100, Apr 3, 2015.

  1. 0x100 macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #1
    Is it possible?

    Would you buy one?

    What would the price be?
     
  2. m4v3r1ck, Apr 3, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2015

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  3. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #3
  4. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #4
    WOW...

    I made a computer that cost 1.3 million dollars on that page.

    It had 60 cores and 6.1TB of ram. :eek:
     
  5. 0x100 thread starter macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #5
    Sounds like the Apple store prices alright ;)

    I think the highest I have done on the apple store was much lower than that. If they did something similar it would be close though I think.
     
  6. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #6
    And no built-in optical drive. You have to buy an external that ships separately.
     
  7. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #7
    Happy that you're having fun at the HP store....

    You don't need to buy the optical drive - there's an option to enable a BIOS feature to support virtual DVD drives.

    At the BIOS level (or the management web page that talks to the BIOS-level management web server - yes, the firmware has a network port and a web-based management server), you type in the URL of an .ISO file.

    When you do this, the OS (if running) or BIOS (if booting) sees a DVD disc inserted into a USB DVD drive. It eliminates the primitive steps of downloading the .ISO, burning a disc, and inserting it - just give the BIOS the URL.

    The web server is also the KVM - the system Keyboard/Video/Mouse can be accessed through the browser. (Even on an Apple or phone.)
     
  8. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #8
    I just thought it was amusing (about no optical drive).

    I've got servers on my mind, because I moved my old AlphaServer DS10 out here, started it up once and it was fine, put it away for a few months and then when I wanted it again, it wouldn't boot.

    I have 3 SCSI disks in it and two of them are bootable. The disk currently set at the boot disk seems to have failed.

    I mention this because -- as in my optical drive comment -- I no longer have any way to get onto the boot sequence and change the boot ID to a drive that should work. I can only do that via the console port, DB9 RS232. I don't have a terminal. I don't have a PC that I can borrow a USB-RS232 stick for. I don't have a PC with a serial port.

    I don't have any way to talk to my DS10 -- I'm locked out.

    Sure wish I had firmware with a network port!

    I'm going to have to go down to the local used computer store and see if I can scare up a terminal (but what are the odds that in little Hilo I'll find a DEC terminal) or failing that, an old laptop with a DB9 port. I have a CD with my favorite terminal emulator (Hummingbird) and if I could find something to run it on, I'd be good.

    Ugh.
     
  9. 0x100 thread starter macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #9
    Also with 3 cpu slots they could probably put on 3 times the ports. One front panel per pcb. Anyone in favor of 18 ThunderBolt ports?
     
  10. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    18x7 = 126
    126 external Harddrives!!!!
     
  11. 0x100 thread starter macrumors regular

    0x100

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    Japan
    #11
    Now I am waiting for someone to moan about how they can fit 126 internal drives in their old mac pro tower while the new one needs so much external and cables.
     
  12. Lucas Godfrey macrumors 6502

    Lucas Godfrey

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Location:
    Somewhere between Here and There

Share This Page