Mac Pro with Windows Experience Index

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by umgoblue2008, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. umgoblue2008 macrumors regular

    umgoblue2008

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #1
    So I just got my entry level quad nehalem mac pro with 3GB of ram+GT 120. I really dig it so far. After I installed 32 bit windows 7 (should I install 64 bit version though i only have 3 GB of ram?), I get a 5.5 subscore for RAM. Now I have another PC with i7 and 3 GB of ram bought from Newegg, and it scored a 7.7. Does anyone know why the large discrepancy here?

    Here's the RAM i bought for my PC.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231222
     
  2. Smacky macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #2
    Your score is only as high as the slowest component
    So what were the scores for the individual subsystems?
     
  3. umgoblue2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    umgoblue2008

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #3
    Nehalem Mac Pro:
    Processor: 7.4
    Memory: 5.5
    Graphics: 5.9
    Gaming Graphics: 5.4
    Primary Hard desk: 5.9

    custom built pc (Core i7 920 2.66 ghz, 3 GB ram, radeon 4870, 640 GB @ 7200RPM)
    Processor: 7.4
    Memory: 7.7
    Graphics: 6.5
    Gaming graphics: 6.5
    Primary Hard Desk: 5.9

    I understand the other categories, just wondering why the memory difference is so large?
     
  4. Salavat23 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    #4
    The PC ram is faster (1333MHz), and the X58 is a more suitable memory controller for I/O.
     
  5. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #5
    The memory controller is on-die with the i7.
     
  6. umgoblue2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    umgoblue2008

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #6
    Isn't it similar for the Nehalem Mac Pro? I thought these Xeon chips in the Pro are very similar to the i7s?
     
  7. brentsg macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #7
    Yes it applies to both. My point was that the memory controller isn't in the x58 chipset.

    I haven't studied the RAM in your Mac Pro but I would assume that it's ECC memory (slower) as well as probably running at a lower frequency.

    Is the Mac Pro RAM configured to run triple-channel?
     
  8. umgoblue2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    umgoblue2008

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #8
    I think that it does run in triple-channel. But you are right, the ECC memory is probably slower. Makes sense, thanks.
     
  9. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #9
    What speed is the RAM in your i7?

    The ECC shouldn't make that much of a difference... 1 clock cycle of latency I think.

    Something's not right here or we don't have all the facts. :confused:
     
  10. umgoblue2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    umgoblue2008

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #10
    G.SKILL 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9T-3GBNQ - Retail

    so I'm thinking 1333?
     
  11. wetrix macrumors 6502

    wetrix

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #11
    1333 MHz > 1066 MHz

    Kind of sad that such a beast is outperformed here by the i7
     
  12. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #12
    Check for the operating mode of your SATA drivers. If they are legacy (and not AHCI) you will get reduced hard disk performance in Windows.

    Edit: sorry I over read that the HD score was identical. So disregard my post.
     
  13. umgoblue2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    umgoblue2008

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #13
    I agree. Even though I paid ~1200$ more for my MP, I like how its dead quiet (with GT 120, not sure about Radeon 4870) and its great looks+reliability.
     
  14. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #14
    I have one of each GPU, and the loudest thing about it is still the hard drive.
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    Yeah it's tough to break a 5.9 hard drive score in Windows 7

    A passively cooled GPU is quite worth it.
     
  16. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #16
    We can only confirm if your (and likely everyone else's) Mac Pro memory is performing properly if we can get a core i7 windows benchmark at 1066... can you change your memory speed on your i7 rig to 1066 and re-run the index score? If it's close to the score you get with your Mac Pro then the riddle is answered... otherwise, there may be more to this.
     
  17. AlfaLavala macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Aberdeen, UK
    #17
    It's the apple detection in windows 7. If it sees :apple: it cuts your score to encourage you to move away from it.

    /tinfoilhat
     

Share This Page