Mac Pro won't boot *unless* I hold option key

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macgruder, Oct 11, 2010.

  1. macgruder macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    My Mac Pro (early 2008) has a strange issue. It won't get past the grey screen (before the Apple) unless I hold the Option key, and choose the Boot disk manually.

    * it only happens after a shutdown
    * restart it starts fine
    * nothing in console suggests weirdness (although of course it doesn't get this far anyway at boot)

    I've tried the usual: zap PRAM, permissions etc.

    I do have Apple care for another few months but cannot afford the time without my computer at this point.
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    hmmm. have you checked this through System Preferences?

    [​IMG]
     
  3. macgruder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Yes, the correct disk is selected there. The computer does boot fine if I do a restart, but not if I do a Shutdown then turn it on.
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    unfortunate!

    now into the hard things.

    attempt to follow this as best you can.

    attempt to reset the SMC - be careful!

    from there - its all shooting in the dark from my knowledge. :(
     
  5. macgruder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    fdisk is interesting. This is what I get:

    $ diskutil list

    /dev/disk1
    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
    0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.5 TB disk1
    1: EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1
    2: Apple_HFS MacPro 1.4 TB disk1s2
    3: Apple_HFS SystemBackup 100.0 GB disk1s3
    4: Apple_HFS Boot 13.6 GB disk1s4

    (plus 3 other disks)

    $ sudo fdisk -e /dev/rdisk1

    fdisk: 1> p
    Disk: /dev/rdisk1 geometry: -5415437/4/63 [-1364690128 sectors]
    Offset: 0 Signature: 0xAA55
    Starting Ending
    #: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - -1364690129] <Unknown ID>
    2: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
    3: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
    4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused

    which seems weird with the negative number.



    Now the suggestion is to do this:
    type f 1 <== use your partition number here !!

    but I'm not altogether confident that 1 is the correct number, and whether or not I could be doing BAD STUFF if I continue. :)
     
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    below i have attached my startup disk size, etc. it is not a negative number. there most certainly is something wrong with your drive.

    i would suggest running OSX Install disc (gray discs) and run Disk Utility over it - see if that can help.

    failing that, Disk Warrior is a GREAT tool for optimising discs.

    failing that, clone the disk, wipe it (zero out), clone back.

    fdisk: 1> p
    Disk: /dev/disk0 geometry: 121601/255/63 [1953525168 sectors]
    Offset: 0 Signature: 0xAA55
    Starting Ending
    #: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
    2: AF 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 1891368960] HFS+
    *3: 07 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [1892042752 - 61480960] HPFS/QNX/AUX
    4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
     
  7. macgruder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    It actually might not be a problem with the drive. It may be an overflow error - the drive is 1.5TB and perhaps that is beyond what fdisk - my other 1.5TB disk gives exactly the same negative number.

    Thinking about it - this may be the root of the problem. Perhaps for larger disks booting is an issue because of this. I don't want to play around with fdisk of course if it's not compatible with large disks. I wonder if there is a MacPorts version that is.
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    i have a number of 2TB drives but unfortunately i am unable to fdisk into them properly as 2 of them are in a RAID and the other one says "resource busy" - i have a few things open ;)

    this seems to agree with me that there is a 2TB limitation for MBR drives (its actually 2.2TB), but we are dealing with GUID partitions here - there is no real world physical limitation as far as i can tell even for fdisk!

    am not quite sure where the problem lies, but i still do recommend Disk Warrior.
     
  9. macgruder thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Thanks for your help.

    I'll give DiskWarrior a shot. If you do manage to close all those open things, I'd appreciate it if you could post the fdisk output at your convenience. :)

    I wonder if there's a non fdisk way to try to do the same thing.
     

Share This Page