Mac Pro Won't Power On... Thanks Yosemite

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ZZ Bottom, Aug 11, 2015.

  1. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #1
    My 5,1 Mac Pro 6-core, 5870, 12GB Ram will no longer power on. Started when the system failed to wake from sleep today and had to be forcibly shut down. Now even after disconnecting the power cable for several minutes, it will only make a click noise when attempting to power on.

    Tried Mac Pro SMC reset (remove power cable for 15sec, plug in, wait 5sec, press power).

    When I remove the 3x 4GB RAM sticks it will power on, but does nothing. I've tried all RAM slots and the only one that appears to allow a RAM stick in with power turning on is slot 4 of 4.

    However, even though the power turns on, it does not reach the Mac chime (POST). I try holding PRAM reset buttons, but it obviously isn't even making it that far.

    ------

    Anyone have any idea what part of this Mac Pro has died? I'm guessing not the PSU since it will power on with no RAM.
     
  2. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #2
    SMC reset (remove power cable for 15sec, plug in, wait 5sec, press power).

    Hit power button for 10 seconds while unplugged, otherwise it really does not reset SMC.
     
  3. ZZ Bottom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #3
    Thank you, will try this!
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Why the "thanks Yosemite" in the thread title?
    Do you really think this was caused by Yosemite?
    Not likely IMO
     
  5. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #5

    Either way, Yosemite is still a POS.
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Sucks to be you
     
  7. Redneck1089 macrumors 65816

    Redneck1089

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    #7
    Why, I am not having the problem? I'm not the OP. I'm just commenting that Yosemite is a POS, which it is.
     
  8. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #8
    Also try to remove for a while the internal battery...
     
  9. ZZ Bottom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #9
    The failure to sleep started after updating from 10.9.x to 10.10.3. Nothing about my habits or software changed. I held out hoping 10.10.4 would fix the bug, but that brought nothing. So yes I can safely say Yosemite is at fault. Apple must stop passing off beta software on the public as supposed stable product.
     
  10. ZZ Bottom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #10
    A quick search shows that YOU have experienced issues with Yosemite when it hosed your Bluetooth devices. Bugs will occur, but when they contribute to hardware failure it's more than a little frustrating.
     
  11. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #11
    My 5,1 wouldn't start. I tried all the usual fixes, but nothing worked. I never considered that the video card might be bad, but when I removed it the machine chimed and started up properly so far as I could tell. I had an old card and so I installed that, rebooted, and all was well (except for having lost $ on a new card and having to use an old 3870).

    Try removing your video card, just to see. As I said, I'd never have suspected that mine was the problem.
     
  12. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #12
    Yes, when Yosemite first came out, some of my Bluetooth devices wouldn't connect, which was remedied fairly quickly with no further issues.

    Your OP did not mention anything about your upgrade from 10.9 to 10.10 and the timing of your issue, only your title mentioned Yosemite, which is why I asked.

    Your OP also did not mention a failure to sleep, but rather a failure to wake from sleep. Which is it? I am genuinely confused now.
    Also, if the machine will not power on, how did you upgrade from 10.3 to 10.4 to see if would resolve the issue? More confusion.
    There seems to be more at play here than what was stated in your OP, so it may be hard for people to offer advice without the full story.
     
  13. ZZ Bottom thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #13
    Failure to wake from sleep.

    The machine had to be forcibly shut down when it failed to wake from sleep, which was about a 50/50 occurrence. For the most part I left it to never sleep, but occasionally it would get to me wasting so much energy while I'm away, so I'd attempt letting it sleep. I use it as a media server with two Apple TVs accessing content about every other day.

    I updated to 10.10.3 about two weeks prior to 10.10.4 releasing.
     

Share This Page