Mac Pro. Worth the price?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by WhiteIphone5, Jun 7, 2013.

  1. Shrink macrumors G3

    Shrink

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    New England, USA
    #2
    I would suggest that it depends on what your computing needs are whether you need a Mac Pro...and then worry about the cost.
     
  2. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #3
    Probably should I ask if it was a good deal rather than if it was worth it. Based by condition and specs, do you think it's a fair price?
     
  3. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #4
    lets see here quad core 2gb of ram that will barely run 10.8 for $1200 smacks


    if you are planning on using it for many many years and take it on an upgrade path aka adding more ram/ new graphics card 2nd dvd drive new hdd over a long amount of time. I would say that it was a good deal
     
  4. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #5
    This one seems to hit the spot. What do you think?
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Mac-P...7865215?pt=Apple_Desktops&hash=item4173ee34ff
     
  5. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #6
  6. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #7
    The initial one in the OP link is kind of expensive in the current year. I wonder if it's labeled correctly. The base model in 2010 came with 3GB of ram, not 2. Of course it was normal to bump that way up, but I'm skeptical when something is listed below stock specs.

    That one is a better price overall. It's an older graphics card, but it's cheaper. Depending on your requirements, you can upgrade it to a pretty awesome machine. You haven't mentioned anything about your needs though. It's really quite possible to go into overkill mode too, which is why I ask.
     
  7. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #8
    eh iMovie, FCP, Photshop, C++, JAVA, Obc-c programming. Might be an Overkill but want something to hold up for a while :)
    already got an SSD and probably buy gtx 680 or 5780 not sure yet
     
  8. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #9
    Hi WhitePhone5. With the first link you provided, http://www.ebay.com/itm/APPLE-MAC-PR…item53f9688591 Clarify with the seller if the listing on the specs is correct. The Mac Pro was listed as Mid 2010, 3.2ghz. As far as I know, the Mid 2010 base model was 2.8ghz at 3g ram as default. Then the Mid 2012 Mac Pro base model was 3.2ghz with 6g default ram.

    What I can suggest is if you can get a 2009 2.93ghz Quad Core llke this one listed as $1200 where the price is not too far from the link above http://www.ebay.com/itm/APPLE-MAC-P...8598846?pt=Apple_Desktops&hash=item1e7860583e

    Clarify with seller also on the cosmetic condition as some sellers only use stock photos and not the actual photo of the computer. There should be no major dents. Also on the first link, the Mac Pro has only 2G ram so factor in added expenses in getting more ram. Happy shopping.
     
  9. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #10
    That is a good set of uses. You don't necessarily need a powerful gpu for most of that. FCP might start to make better use of one in the near future. What I meant was that many people suggest upgrading the older machines to 6 cores without taking use into consideration. The 680 is a nice option if you use anything that really stresses it. I don't think it has full CUDA support yet though. Also you remind me that I still need to learn objective c:mad:.
     
  10. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #11
    Thank you for the reply. How about the 2nd link?

    ----------

    Lol better get to it bro.
     
  11. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #12
     
  12. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #13
     
  13. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #14
    Difficult to learn? I'm not much of a developer. I write a few scripted tools, and I'm starting to do a little shader writing.

    Yeah they were killed off together as they used a lot of the same parts. The 08s are their own thing. The 09 through 12s use the same board. There might be some gpu or firmware that is dropped, but it should be possible to run the latest OS on any of those around the same amount of time. I would give it maybe 3 years after they're no longer produced, but I'm not 100% sure if they'll try to drop some variants earlier than others. The current internals have been used over a very long cycle, but they can't just drop something as soon as that model is replaced.
     
  14. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #15
    Wish I had $$ for the new Mac Pro. I'm 100% base model starts at 2.5k -.-
     
  15. Che Castro macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    #16
    So that 2010 Mac Pro is more powerful then a 2012 base Mac mini ?
     
  16. unibility macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #17
    perhaps. but a 2010 mac pro cannot use airplay or the mirroring feature where the 2012 mac mini can. LOL
     

Share This Page