Mac Pro & WoW (World of Warcraft)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CharlieKirk, Dec 5, 2008.

  1. CharlieKirk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    #1
    I have totally standard new Mac Pro (8-Core etc).

    I usually have a few simple apps running at the same time...

    Currently a UML App, Adium, Firefox, Skype, Mail & iTunes, and obviously... WoW.

    For some reason, every now and again, it freezes, then returns to it's normal (high) FPS... anything I can do to speed it up? I'm thinking whether it's really worth buying it 8800 GT?
     
  2. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #2
    I assume you're playing in OSX? You'll see a pretty decent increase if you play in Windows, if you use Bootcamp. Otherwise, welcome to the OSX gaming experience!

    Unless you work around the WOW FPS cap you're capped at 60 frames. I wouldn't recommend the 8800GT for WOW alone, the 2600XT is more than enough for a game from 2004. WOW isn't a very resource intensive game anymore.
     
  3. chromatronic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #3
    even to play in 1920x1200 ?
     
  4. StanD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #4
    Huh?

    FPS cap? I am consistently running WoW on the (crappier then GTX280) 8800GT with everything maxxed at 2560 x 1600 at over 120fps++ in the new expansion zones as well as Shatt?

    It's surprising how close the framerate is to the GTX280 under Bootcamp with 4x FSAA. I always preferred OpenGL over DirectX anyways...

    I guess I am missing something here?


    - Stan
     
  5. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #5
    If you fix frames to monitor (option in video setting), the cap is 60 because the screen can only physically refresh 60 times a sec
     
  6. chromatronic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #6
    Can you play on a mac pro (or imac) with all maxed out and 4x FSAA at 1920x1200 and still have between 30 and 60fps with a 2600 ati?
    Even in Wotlk ?
     
  7. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #7
    maybe around 30, but I doubt the cities would like you
     
  8. chromatronic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    #8
    Then with the ati 3870 ? ^_^
    thanks
     
  9. mastershakess macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Location:
    Bel Air, MD
    #9
    slightly better I'd assume but nothing ground braking
     
  10. DrSly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    #10
    what are you guys talking about?!

    Hello,

    first time poster here, but sorry, to the person who said you would be capped to 60 FPS on OS X...

    NOT!

    I consistently have waaaay above this on my MBP 17" Penryn with a NVIDIA 8600M GT at 512 MB VRAM, and that's *only* a laptop video card...

    I play at max settings in everything, every option on, at 1920x1200 resolution...

    I would expect a MacPro, even a iMac with a 8800 video card, to perform way above this too!

    My experience of WoW is as good as the best DirectX PC users would have it, and all from OpenGL...
     
  11. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #11
    I'm glad you're smart enough to turn off VSYNC. ;)
     
  12. Kurfer macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #12
    This post is full of wrong information,

    I am playing at 1920x1200 and the performance in OSX is outstanding. WoW does NOT cap framerates at 60fps. The cap that you're seeing is because v-sync is forced, you're syncing the framerate with the refresh rate of your monitor. This exists for all games, not just WoW. If you disable it, then you're FPS will go 100+ (although with annoying screen-tearing).
     
  13. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #13
    Look at all the people who know about VSYNC! And who don't read whole threads? :rolleyes:
     
  14. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #14
    That's what I was thinking. And as far as I remember, Vsync was disabled by default on my WoW install. So, of course nobody would think there to be some type of cap.
     
  15. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #15
    Are you getting a 3-5 second TOTAL freeze? Then it disappears...

    I am having that too... 1st gen Mac Pro with 8800gt...

    I am assuming it is the card, I have had none of this **** with my 1 year playing on 7300gt.
     
  16. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #16
    Actually it is. Especially if you run at 1920x1200+. And each new expansion adds more graphics intensive zones/areas. Raiding can be pretty demanding of the video card. Even on my PC with a 8800gts 512mb, my system can choke up sometimes.
     
  17. m1stake macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Philly
    #17
    Any game from the last several years will tax your card a bit when you play it in 1080P because it's not up scaled like a console. WOW plays pretty well on ANYTHING, crappy laptops, computers from 2001, etc.

    WOW didn't look very good when it came out, and that's still true. Luckily, no one's playing for the graphics.

    The 13GB+ of bloat that WOW has become probably doesn't help :p
     
  18. TKEik683 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #18
    I am also having random 3-4 second freezes in WOW (wotlk). It happens maybe once every couple hours. Im assuming it is either because of the expansion or some sort of osX update. I have been running the same hardware for the last 10 months and this only started happening recently.

    I would start looking at the WOW OSX support pages.

    Dave
     

Share This Page