Mac Pro X5355 upgrade with ram

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JetLyfe420, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. JetLyfe420, Feb 15, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012

    JetLyfe420 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #1
    I have recently picked up my first Mac pro 1.1 (2x 3.0 mhz X5160's, 4gb ram, and 500gb HDD) on ebay for $788 shipped to my door. Is this a good price??

    Anyway my real question is this; The Mac Pro came with 667mhz ram, is this the max speed ram this system can accept?? I am upgrading to dual X5355 processors which have a 1333mhz front side bus speed, does this mean i can use ram rated at 1333mhz? or am i stuck at 667mhz with this system??

    I want to squeeze as much as i can out of this system, i am doing HD video editing, and music production with it. Any help is greatly appreciated, as i need to know before i can order my ram upgrade. Thank you.
     
  2. ashman70, Feb 15, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012

    ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #2
    The only RAM you can use with that system is 667 or 800, the 800 would clock down to 667, so there would be no great advantage. If you want to squeeze the most out of the system perhaps look at a dual quad Mac Pro 3,1 used, it might come out to the same money at the Mac Pro 1,1 and the cost to upgrade the processors.
     
  3. JetLyfe420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #3
    Okay, is that speed sufficient or is it considered to be slow? I will be working with H.264 files from a Canon T2i.
     
  4. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #4
    Speed of what? If you are talking about the RAM you don't have a choice. The Mac Pro 1,1 and 2,1 both use 667 RAM, the 3,1 uses 800 RAM, not that much faster but a little faster.
     
  5. JetLyfe420 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    #5
    I understand this, im asking if the 667mhz ram is good enough for what i plan to. I ask because if its not i will pick up a more updated system...
     
  6. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #6
    There is another user on this board who frequents this Mac Pro sub forum, he is doing HD video editing on a Mac Pro 1,1 and says its slow, but doable. If you have the budget, you can't go wrong with a newer system, it will only make the video editing experience that much faster and enjoyable the faster RAM, CPU and more cores you have.
     
  7. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #7
    You want at least a 3.1 but higher the better when dealing with HD. I used to own both and found the 2008 worked pretty good. If you can afford a Mac pro with westmere processors, get it. Will serve you many years.
     

Share This Page