Mac Pro XP install freezes at 34 minutes remaining

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by tuartboy, Nov 30, 2007.

  1. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #1
    Ok, this has me weirded out.

    I am running the new leopard boot camp assistant and I set aside an entire 250GB drive to run windows XP Pro SP2. I run the assistant, reboot, and get into the install process where it then proceeds to lock up at exactly 34 minutes remaining in the "Installing devices" section.

    - I have tried formatting both NTFS quick and normal
    - The install CD is clean and free of scratches
    - I have tried the CD in both superdrives on my MP
    - I have left the install running for over 12 hours.
    - I even tried downloading a working copy of XP Pro SP2 off bittorrent (I know...) and it freezes at the exact same spot as well.

    Absolutely nothing works. Any ideas?
     
  2. FatGolfer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    #2
    Do you have any preipherals connected (other than mouse and keyboard)? I have had problems with Windows installs when I have external drives / printers / webcams etc. connected.
     
  3. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #3
    I had an external and an old 3G iPod connected. I guess I'll try disconnecting those and get back to you.
     
  4. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #4
    No go. Any other ideas?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. weblogik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    #5
    im having a similar problem in parallels, not necessarily at the same time as you but it freezes before completing :confused:
     
  6. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #6
    I never did manage to get xp successfully installed. I tried putting the boot camp partition on my os x boot drive but it wouldn't even recognize the partion as being valid. I finally broke down and installed vista on the 250gb drive and it even failed to register the partition a few times before I'd installed properly. I'm not a fan of vista, but I do need something up and running so it will have to do for now. Funny thing is that I never had any problems with the beta version of boot camp, just the release version...
     
  7. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #7
    How long have you left it? I had a computer once (non mac) where it stopped early in the install for about 10 mins with no response and then went through fine.
     
  8. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #8
    Over 12 hours.
     
  9. contoursvt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #9
    oh wow ok never mind :) LOL.

    This is a long shot but is there any chance your burner is not reading the disk well? I'd say try making a copy of the CD and see if it will complete or if it will give you some read errors... Thats the only thing that comes to mind at the moment.


     
  10. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #10
    I tried 2 different copies of XP Pro SP2.
     
  11. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #11
    it could just be a quirk in leopard...i'd say wait for an update
     
  12. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #12
    Seems like a huge quirk. Especially considering boot camp is officially out of beta and is apparently 7 of the new "300+" features.
     
  13. zblaxberg Guest

    zblaxberg

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    #13
    I haven't really been happy with the "300+" features...about 2 days after I got leopard I had a kernal panic, airport issues, freezing, heat problems all at the same time so it had to be sent out.

    However I wouldn't really want windows on a mac because then it is more prone to viruses etc. What are you trying to install windows xp pro for?
     
  14. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #14
    Well, the windows partition would be vulnerable, yes. It won't affect your mac partition as windows can't even figure out what your mac drives are, much less write evil code to them.

    I still have some software that I only have windows licenses for and no real desire to pony up to transfer my licenses (or pay for upgrade versions) to OS X. I also keep a tiger install around for the same reason. And ubuntu for that matter. I'm pretty OS agnostic even though OS X is my OS of choice.
     
  15. rubyseeds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #15
    I'm having the same exact issue as you. It's been a while, but if you found a workaround, please let me know :( thanks!
     
  16. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #16
    Actually, I have. :)

    I have 2 Dell 2405 monitors with those all-in-one card readers on the side. As soon as I unplugged the USB cables leading to the monitors the OS installed fine. I then plugged them back in and had some problems with the OS hanging on boot and never leaving the gray screen. Again, after unplugging them everything works great.

    I also have noticed problems with my little motorola bluetooth USB adapter. I suggest if you have either of these 2 items (USB card reader, bluetooth adapter), try unplugging them and then install.
     
  17. rubyseeds macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #17
    Thanks so much for your reply! Windows is safely installed on my computer now :)
     
  18. knowbody macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    #18
    I'm having the same issue, except on my new iMac 3.06ghz. It freezes around 34-32 minutes, when it's installing devices. Since it's on an iMac, I can't really unplug the monitor.

    Any suggestions?
     
  19. KOZMICBILL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #19
    MacBook Air XP iNSTALL FREEZE @ 34-35 MINUTES REMAINING

    I have this problem as well. I have tried XP Pro from 3 different disks and XP Home. here is nohng o unplug. Using Leopard.
     

Share This Page