Mac RAR compression/splitting program?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by VideoBeagle, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. VideoBeagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #1
    I'm looking for a program that can RAR files and split them.

    Keka does this with every format that's NOT RAR, and there's plenty of extractors, but is there a (easy to use) compressor?
     
  2. vladobizik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Location:
    Slovakia
    #2
    I have been using Entropy for years and I swear by it. Hands down the best archive app for OS X (yes, it fully supports creating RAR files). It's kinda on the expensive side, I bought it when it was on sale for under 10 bucks but I think it's worth every penny:
    https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/entropy/id437151949?mt=12
     
  3. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #3
    Thanks for the recomendation...I'll look into that.
     
  4. TitaniumTiti macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2014
    #4
    You can install command line rar, here's one that have made a step by step: http://best-mac-tips.com/2013/02/01/install-free-command-line-unrar-mac/

    After you can use automator or action folder to perform the task with drag n drop. Cost at the end 0$. Require a little effort, but in the end can give you full control on the way you make your ear files and automatization of it.
     
  5. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #5
  6. loekf macrumors 6502

    loekf

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    #6
    AFAIK, BetterZip can read RAR files, but requires the OSX commandline version of RAR (= 29 Euro) to actually create RAR files.

    BetterZip is recommended though, but also not free.
     
  7. simon lefisch macrumors 6502a

    simon lefisch

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #7
    I've created RAR files without using command line. Works just fine.
     

Share This Page