*Mac*Rumors uses IIS as its forum webserver?

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by rhyndu, Jul 17, 2008.

  1. rhyndu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    A Planet Orbiting Sol!
    #1
    While the forums were down due to database errors this morning, I saw this message (see attachment.)

    It looks very much like the IIS error pages (of IIS 5 - last time I had to do anything with it - anyway :p) - is MacRumors being served on a Windows IIS server and not OSX Apache?

    Or is it just a look-alike message?


    No flames please.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Macs make crappy webhosts, so using Linux/Windows would be sensible for that, though I believe MR uses Linux and that that is just a look-alike message...
     
  3. Mindflux macrumors 68000

    Mindflux

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Location:
    Austin
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    ... and what possible importance would it be, anyway?

    It'd be like criticizing a coal mine owner for using gasoline in their car.
     
  5. exabytes18 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    Suburb of Chicago
    #5
    I get a database error when I try and view your attachment. :confused:


    Joking aside, from the response headers, it looks like www. forum. and att. are all running on apache.
     
  6. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    exactly, this is the standard error message vBulletin gives you when it cant connect to the database it has absolutely nothing to do with the webhost

    in case you dont know how forums work there are two parts, the file side and the database side, the file side is what you see in your browser, all of the pages, the templates graphics and all of that, the database provides the files with the text information they display, in vBulletin when the files cant see the database they throw that error, or in other forum software a very similar message, vB just decided to use one that looked like the IIs messages
     
  7. hadderakk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #7
    actually it's Apache 2.2.6 /unix with php 5.2.4
    ;)
     
  8. Voidness macrumors 6502a

    Voidness

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Location:
    Null
    #8
    Yep:

    Apache/2.2.6 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.6 OpenSSL/0.9.8b mod_auth_passthrough/2.1 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/5.2.4 Server at forums.macrumors.com Port 80
     
  9. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #9
    From the thread title I thought this was a crack about all recent slowdowns in page load times during certain times of the day.

    I was thinking Macintosh II's with the 68020 CPU.

    Anyways I always figured Macrumors was run on an hodge podge of 604's, G3's and G4's donated by users. All of them shoved dank, dark basements and hidden in corners of universities around the globe swiping bandwidth:D. Or does the site make enough revenue now to buy modern servers?
     
  10. Sayer macrumors 6502a

    Sayer

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    The world runs on Windows, get over it. I have to use a DELL Windows craptop to do my job making Mac software (parts of it anyway). We can't get away from Windows - its everywhere (ATMs, cash registers, phones, cars, XBOXes).
     
  11. mustang_dvs macrumors 6502a

    mustang_dvs

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #11
    Personally, aside from a custom distro of linux, my Mac webhosts have been the most solid servers I've ever had.
     
  12. Peace macrumors Core

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #12
    When you're serving up thousands of hits a day Apache is the best and it runs on just about any PC.
     
  13. a104375 macrumors 6502

    a104375

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    Matamoras, PA
    #13
    When I saw the IIS that was immediately what I thought.

    that's a very useful way to use old macs.. lol would be interesting to know...
    so arn do we have
    a)shiny new servers
    b)not so shiny older servers
    c)old macs hidden in dark basements
    d)crappy pc?

    ..lol
     
  14. longofest Editor emeritus

    longofest

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    #14
    No, we are NOT running IIS. We run a special cocktail of webservers for the content to optimize performance, but it all runs on Linux.
     

Share This Page