Mac says I got a 74.5gb HD, but it is 80gb

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by souzawilly, Sep 29, 2009.

  1. souzawilly macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #1
    Im kind of new to the Mac world( 1yr) and I love the fact that my mac doesnt slow down, get virus or spywares. But i hate that there is no games and no garena, so I have to sacrafice HD space for XP, so the last time I switched the HD back to 100% mac, 5gb of my HD just went KAPUT!
    I tried Disk utility, already tried to start from 0 again, but nothing seens to fix it... and Im very close to make a apple sauce from this thing if I dont get my gigabytes back again, please help me save money and a lot of kittens.
    Muito Obrigado :D

    This is my HD:
    FUJITSU MHY2080BH:

    Capacity: 74.53 GB
    Model: FUJITSU MHY2080BH
    Revision: 0081000D
    Serial Number: *******
    Native Command Queuing: Yes
    Queue Depth: 32
    Removable Media: No
    Detachable Drive: No
    BSD Name: disk0
    Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
    Partition Map Type: GPT (GUID Partition Table)
    S.M.A.R.T. status: Verified
    Volumes:
    Willy's Bicht:
    Capacity: 74.21 GB
    Available: 34.97 GB
    Writable: Yes
    File System: Journaled HFS+
    BSD Name: disk0s2
    Mount Point: /
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #3
    pwnage by a newbie at its finest :(
     
  3. js81 macrumors 65816

    js81

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Location:
    KY
    #4
    Get Snow Leopard and you'll "get your gigabytes back." :)
     
  4. Grey Podder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    #5
    Actually NewMacbookPlz...

    You need to divide by 1.024 three times. 80 GB/(1.024*1.024*1.024)≈74.5 GiB.
     
  5. ss957916 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #6
    Grey Podder (6 posts) points out schoolboy error to NewMacbookPlz (2,666 posts).

    Hilarious!
     
  6. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #7
    Well that clears that up then...:eek:
     
  7. Grey Podder macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    #8
    No hard feelings, mate...

    I get this question far too often for my tastes from friends and family. Simply makes me wish that everybody could just pick either decimal or binary and stick with it. You cannot expect the average consumer even to pay attention to "1 GB = 1 000 000 000 bytes", much less understand it.

    Next time I'll try not to act the know-it-all!
     
  8. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #9
    Haha, no no...it was a good catch on your part. I forgot that the 1000/1024 conversion has to be divided back all the way to kilobytes and megabytes, and not just for the gigabyte portion of the conversion.

    Believe me, that's something I'll not soon forget now!! :D
     
  9. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #10
    Upgrade to Snow Leopard and you're back up to 80 GB...
     
  10. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #11
    Yes...but no. I mean, just because the OS calculates the HDD size using 10^3 units, doesn't mean you suddenly have "extra" space. Programs use up the same number of bytes as before, so now everything just looks bigger...
     
  11. Thiol macrumors 6502a

    Thiol

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #12
    It was a joke.
     

Share This Page