Mac screen to FireWire/DV

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Sajextryus, Jan 16, 2011.

  1. Sajextryus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #1
    So, I was wondering if there is some sort of application or technique that can help me record my screen using my DV camera connected to the computer with FireWire. I know that some programs can print/display/output video to the camera, like Final Cut Express and iMovie (the older ones, at least), so would it be difficult for the computer to output it's display to the camera so it can record the screen without any frame rate problems? And I already know it might diminish quality (low resolution) a bit, but the size my camera records is big enough for what I'm trying to do. I just need a good frame rate, mainly.
     
  2. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
  3. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3
    Well, unless the OP is using it on a really old machine (G4/400 or below) - then it may well not record without frame-rate issues.
     
  4. Sajextryus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #4
    I got the trial.
    I can't find a way to output it to the DV camera.
    I tried recording using that app, but it's very choppy for what I'm doing, which is recording another input that is a cheap capture card. QuickTime X even does a better job than this.

    And yes, it's an Intel based Mac.
     
  5. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #5
    Do you need real-time output?

    (I don't know if any such thing exists.)

    Snapz Pro would record your screen-capture to a video file, which you would then convert to DV video and then output it using, say, iMovie.
     
  6. matteusclement macrumors 65816

    matteusclement

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    victoria
    #6
    weird. I have used the 30fps and it works great. are you doing some CPU intensive graphics while trying to capture? cause then the hard drive is trying to read and write at a rate that causes it to be choppy. capture to another drive. but if you're playing world of warcraft and trying to capture 30fps, you're toast.
     
  7. OttawaGuy macrumors 6502a

    OttawaGuy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #7
    Try the SimpleVideoOut X.app it's inside the zipfile. The last revision was "Version 2.06, 2010-11-08 Updated Xcode project."


    http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/samplecode/SimpleVideoOut/SimpleVideoOut.zip
     
  8. Sajextryus thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    #8
    Well, I just need the video with good framerate. It means nothing if I just print choppy video, and I don't need to convert the file or anything to a DV file.

    I'm actually trying to capture video from a crappy capture card I have that's connected to a VHS player.
    I tried on one external drive, and it was a bit choppy. I'll try it with an SD card later. Hopefully it won't be.

    All that's helping me do is view already-saved video files with my camera. I need to record my live screen, since recording it to the hard drive is too choppy.
     
  9. Arrowk127 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #9
    Does your camera have an av input? Could you just record right from your VHS deck to your camera instead of playing it on your desktop?
     
  10. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Definitely easier - screen captures are a real pain (For instance, I can get 30fps out of my Mac Pro, but not when I have all my apps open (Final Cut Pro, Motion, Flash, Dreamweaver, Soundtrack Pro, Mail, Safari and iTunes normally))
     
  11. De Rocca, Jan 17, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2011

    De Rocca macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #11
    If you have an Imac (and i think every mac with a Mini Diplay Port) and a 13$ cable (or 10 € ;-) ) than you can send the signal to a hdmi output.

    Cable you need : "Mini Display port to HDMI" connects straight to a FullHD television or any device that can record from an HDMI input.

    This is of course real-time output, no delays, no low frame rate... It's WYSIWYG ;-) (WhatYouSee(on your mac)IsWhatYouGet(on your tv screen)

    Works great :)
    You can even use your TV as second screen or mirrored screen.

    Maybe this can help
     
  12. xStep macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Location:
    Less lost in L.A.
    #12
    How do you set SNAPZ PRO X to output to another drive?
     

Share This Page