Mac Screens and More Advice...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by phnord, Aug 13, 2008.

1. phnord macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,

I'm new here, and wanted to ask for some advice regarding purchasing an apple or two. I'm going to be buying a Macbook and a Mac Pro, as I'm a film scoring student at Berklee College of Music and my 4-year-old Powerbook G4 isn't cutting it anymore. I figure I need a long-term solution (hence the Pro) but at the same time will still need portability, so I think it's a good investment.

Anyway, I've got a pretty good deal through Apple for the actual machines, between the student discount and the two free iPod Touches & Printers. However, I'm debating about what to do about various other parts.

It's come to my attention that it's a much better idea to buy RAM / HDD's elsewhere, as they go for a lot cheaper on sites like macsales.com. I'm right now mainly debating what to do about a screen.

I do not do extensive video / photo work and therefore don't have a ton of experience in this area. My main concern is that doing film scoring, it's helpful to have a good amount of screen real estate for the various programs I'll be running, plus to have decent image quality for running the videos I'll be working with. That being said, I'm not going to be needing to do high-end image work or anything, so I don't want to pay a crap-load for it as well.

Is the Apple 20" display for $549.00 a good deal for me, or should I be looking elsewhere? All and any advice and opinions, as well as links to stores/reviews to check out would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Andy B.

P.S. Any reasons not to start off with 2 1GB sticks in each machine and look at upgrades later? Also, I've heard stirrings about new machines coming a little down the line - if anyone has any info on what machines these are (Macbook, Mac Pro) or what kind of upgrades are expected, I'd appreciate hearing about it.

2. Umbongo macrumors 601

Umbongo