Mac Security Questions

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by DubstepAttack, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. DubstepAttack macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #1
    K guys I just bought a new G5 to replace my old one that was lost when a DJ booth collapsed. I am trying to make it as secure as possible so I figure I'll list all of the things I've done so far and you guys can tell me if I'm missing anything..

    1. IP proxy
    2. Default OSX Firewall On
    3. Firevault Folder Encryption On
    4. Little Snitch
    5. iAntiVirus
     
  2. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #2
    TBH, I don't even have my firewall on. Never needed it.
     
  3. fcortese macrumors demi-god

    fcortese

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Big Sky country
    #3
    Same here, plus no anti-virus program
     
  4. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    firewall is good to have on as a precaution, it doesn't bog down the system like an antivirus program might

    contrary to apple fanboys, macs aren't impenetrable
     
  5. crypticlineage macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    If your mac sits behind a nice secure router, there is no need for a firewall. An example of such router includes any compatible hardware running DD-WRT.
     
  6. tdgrn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #6
    The only thing on your list that sounds good is the Firewall... IMO
    Explanations below

    1.) IP proxy - why would you use this...unless you are trying to hide your internet activity or get around something (work filter...)
    2.) Default Firewall - Good Stuff
    3.) Firevault - Do you have stuff that needs to be encrypted (ie. Client Information)? If you forget your password, your files are toast.
    4.) Little Snitch - If you have pirated apps? If so then I guess you can use this, but you can also do this with the built in OS X Firewall...
    5.) iAntiVirus - Primary purpose is to scan files that you send / receive files from PC's to help prevent malware distribution... there is not a program (once again, unless you are pirating apps) that can harm Macs...
     
  7. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #7
    unlike doubling down on condoms, another 2 > 1 in this case
    having it on does not disrupt any day to day tasks, don't see why not
     
  8. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    No firewall ghahahaha.

    First, start with something....industrial strength:
    Mac OS X Security Configuration For Mac OS X Version 10.6 Snow Leopard.

    My own provisions:
    Custom Firewall config w/ WaterRoof.
    No fast user switching; user name must be typed in at login.
    FW password (for the lulz, really.)
    Majority of personal documents encrypted with some form of certificate encryption which will remain nameless.
    Entire system SSD and all external drives encrypted with PGP Whole Disk Encryption; AES-256 with a really long key. ( I wouldn't touch firevault with a 20 foot wireless pole).
    'kill all' network location which has no connected network adapters.
    3M Privacy filter
    sandbox for studying behaviors of utilities i'm considering for purchase and use (i.e. MS Office, Creative Suite (no matter how rootkitish) gets green light. Anything from AAPL is go (obviously), everything else gets screened).
    and some other stuff....
     
  9. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #9
    The thing was, it did disrupt some of the little gaming I did on my Mac. I might just turn it on now since I no longer use this thing for gaming.
     
  10. aeboi macrumors 65816

    aeboi

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    interesting, the firewall only bothered my gaming when I used Windooze but that's why I switched...
     
  11. No1nfoProvided macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #11
    I think I couldn't host games in Starcraft: BW and Warcraft 3: TFT. I don't remember what the problem was, but I knew the firewall wasn't that crucial for my Mac, so I just turned it off.
     

Share This Page