Mac Software impressions - first time user

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by CristobalHuet, Sep 10, 2008.

1. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

CristobalHuet

Alright, being with my Mac the last couple of weeks I can shed some thoughts on the programs I've used until now...feel free to disagree, and put in your own. :)

--

Microsoft Word 2008 4/5; previously using Office 2007 on Vista, I can safely say I like this version more. Firstly, the Ribbon interface, which was cool at first on 2007, is not present...a plus; the palettes can get annoying at times, as they don't remember which sections you had open in your last document. VB loss is not a biggie for me, being a student, I have everything I need in the program and some spiffy new themes. It takes some getting used to, but I just can't understand the flack this was getting from users. It doesn't offer very much beyond Word 2004, but it's a worthy upgrade, feels more stable, hasn't crashed on me once, and loads up within seconds.
    I havent used PowerPoint much at all, but first impressions are good..will be going with Keynote this year though.

VLC 5/5 - No complaints here, nothing much to be said other than I wouldn't be caught dead running QuickTime with this beast around.

Safari 3.5/5 - I use Safari, mainly because Firefox is more of a ressource hog and I didn't like Camino. Shame there aren't Firefox-like addons. A solid browser, best available on the Mac...Safari 4 will be great.

Adium 4/5 - TERRIFIC IM app, I'd recommend this more than iChat A/V due to the fact I refuse to run MSN for Mac. It supports many instant messaging accounts and is customizable, comes with Growl too and is easy on the eyes. Only downside is there's no video capabilities (at least from what I've seen) and no screen sharing, found in iChat.

Photoshop CS3 4.5/5 - Brilliant as usual, Adobe delivers again. Solid for the average image editor such as myself, I enjoy running it and really like the floating interface.