Mac stucks

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Nnavick, Mar 6, 2011.

  1. Nnavick macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #1
    Hi
    I have MacBook Pro 13' with 10.6.6 and the system is stucking all the time,
    when I am opening the safari it's stuck to a minute or two and the circle with the colors are shown,it's happens when I open Xcode,Photoshop and probably most of the apps on my mac,
    I have exactly 400G of 500G hard drive space so I don't think this is the problem,
    How should I fix it with out format the mac?

    Thank you very much!!
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    How much RAM do you have and how much is used and used - use Activity Monitor to check?
    Also backup your data, maybe your HDD is failing.
     
  3. Nnavick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #3
    The monitor says
    user:3.50 %
    system:2.25 %
    idle:94.25 %

    I don't think this is the problem'
    Do you have any other suggestions?
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    I meant the RAM, take a look at the System Memory tab.
     
  5. Nnavick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #5
    Free 1.93G
    Wired 734.1MB
    Active 937.3MB
    Inactive 450.8MB
    Used 2.07 G
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
  7. Nnavick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #7
    what should I do?

    Edit:

    The S.M.A.R.T status is verified
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Backing up your data to an external HDD or whatever external storage device you have.
    Then contact Apple and make an appointment with the Genius Bar, if possible, to let them have a look at it.
     
  9. Nnavick, Mar 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 6, 2011

    Nnavick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #9
    and what about the smart status?

    I think I found the reason,the Parallels was running Windows 7 Ultimate on the highest Performance and the Windows and the Mac have each 2 GB ram for each.
    Since I turned off the windows 7(it was on Idle) and restarted the Mac all is fine.

    Do you think this was the real problem?
     
  10. Nnavick thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
  11. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #11
    That sounds like it, but in your first first post you mention nothing about parallels running so how are we supposed to know that was the trick. If it is working for you then it sounds like it might have worked. You mentioned other programs running but nothing about parallels, and nothing about the setup of your parallels program. Sounds to me if it is working right and the stuttering is gone then that was the culprit.
     
  12. michael.lauden macrumors 68020

    michael.lauden

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #12
    If it works. Great.

    If it doesn't work. Get it fixed.

    What's the problem here?
     

Share This Page