Mac the ripper??

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by ikklejo, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. ikklejo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Islington, UK
    #1
    Could someone please explain what i should do when i am ripping a dvd it comes up with 'delete vob or pad vob' i am doing a full disc extraction at the time it has happened to 2 dvds so far?? i am trying to rip and then convert so i can watch on my ipod touch and the dvd will not convert straight to handbrake??
    Thanks
    J
     
  2. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #2
    What DVDs are they? I've ripped hundreds of discs with MTR (probably 300+) and I can't recall getting that error in the past. Also, what version are you using?
     
  3. ikklejo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Islington, UK
    #3
    DVDs are Pirates 3, Hot Fuzz, Lords of Dog Town, Wedding Crashes. The version im using is 2.6.6??
    Thanks
     
  4. madofrain macrumors member

    madofrain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #4
    Sony

    I've had trouble with Sony titles..The discs always have bad sectors. Good news is after this expo some new dvd's will come with an mp4 version for use and itunes will provide movie downloads outside the US.
    Glass half full granted. I've not tried any other ripping software... It's annoying having to go to all the effort..Mac the ripper,optional dvd2one compression then handbrake..For a title I PURCHASED, to be able to watch it how I like..
    Still at the mo, not much choice..
     
  5. GSMiller macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    Yea Disney movies are pretty bad for this. I had this issue with Pirates 2 but if I'm not mistaken MTR corrected them itself?
     
  6. ikklejo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Islington, UK
    #6
    pirates 1 is fine but 2 and 3 didnt work:( plus those others i mentioned earlier!?:(
    tried doing it stright through Handbrake and not ripping it first but that didnt work either.
    J
     
  7. dagored macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    VisualHub has never let me down.
     
  8. SheenL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #8
    where has MTR been?

    Its been a long time since MTR has been updated.. did they quit? 3.0 has been in beta since 06
     
  9. speakerwizard macrumors 68000

    speakerwizard

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    does handbrake not work on them? mtr is as good as deaad i think.
     
  10. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #10
    Not sure if MTR is dead, but there is a v3.0 out there, so you'll want to upgrade to that. I've had maybe one or two movies not rip with it (Casino Royale and maybe one other). It was supposed to be a beta just for people who donated to the program, but it's widely available on many sites if it's not officially available.

    Anywho, upgrade and you'll be fine. I've ripped 3 out of 4 of those movies in the past.
     
  11. limbery macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    #11
    hot fuzz w/mactheripper

    I just ripped Hot Fuzz using mac the ripper with no problems....
    ...now, if you could only do the same with Rattatoulie....I had to go back to my pc with ripit4me to do that one!....
    and how come you can't get a program on a mac to save to an .iso file? I've got popcorn and toast titanium and all they'll do is burn DVDs
     
  12. Prelude2Tragedy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #12
    I've been having a lot of issues with dvds with the newer encryptions. While i know this wont be a solution for everyone. If you happen to dual boot, the program DVDFAB HD Decrypter had worked great for me and they release new versions every week to keep up with newer encryptions. Once ripped i can just target the video_ts file in handbrake from the windows partition and delete when done.
     
  13. SheenL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #13
    whats the best ripper available for Mac?

    I been using MTR but it hasnt been updated in awhile. Have more and more problems with newer dvds.. ie Mr woodcock, Good Luck Chuck, Shoot em Up..

    so any one know of a good Mac ripper than is up to date and can handle new security?
     
  14. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #14
    MTR has gone underground and gotten pretty odd. I donated to get access to version 3. It has now gotten to the point where to get an update, you have to email proof of donation, including source of donation with date you joined their forums, etc. Once you get the latest version sent to you, it won't install on your computer (license) without verifying a COMPUTER BASED email address. If you are using webbased mail, you're sol. If you go to their site and look in the forums, you can find what I'm talking about.

    It has gotten to the point where it feels like verifiable data gathering on users, which begs the question of why. There are enough other options, that as much as I would like to support MTR, it isn't worth the hassle and questions anymore.
     
  15. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #15
    Ya, it's pretty bizarre. I mean, before the Intel switch there wasn't really any other games in town, now though we can fire up XP and rip something with any number of free apps. It's an illegal application in the US anyways, and charging for it just makes them more liable.
     
  16. vpmcb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    #16
    MTR with my new iMac

    I have been using MTR for a long time with my old iMac G4, without any problems.

    Now I just got a new Imac G5 Intel core duo, and MTR does not work anymore. All my rips come out with bad sectors. and I cant burn them with toast.

    Can anyone help
     
  17. stockcerts macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #17
    I'm kind of new at this but I was recently trying to rip Casino Royale with Handbreak and it will only record the first 30 seconds or so of the movie. I have all chapters selected, but that's it. It works well on most movies, but not all.
     
  18. SheenL macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    #18
    Can you suggest the free apps you have experience with? Any for Mac? Xp?
     

Share This Page