Mac thinks hard drive is smaller than it is

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MetalCores, Oct 16, 2016.

  1. MetalCores macrumors regular

    MetalCores

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Mosinee, WI
    #1
    So I have a 2015 5K iMac with a 1TB fusion drive in it. Today I attempted to install windows 10 using bootcamp but the installation froze and so I restarted the machine and erased the partition to try again. When I did this the partition went away but the other space did not come back so now my Mac thinks my hard drive is only 600 GB. I was on chat with Apple for a long time about this and the advisor had me enter in a bunch of commands in terminal to try to fix it but had no luck. I was told my only choice is to take it in to be repaired at an Apple Store. The closest one to my area is over 3 hours away so I'm hoping someone may have something else I can try before I have to make 2 trips over 3 hours.
     
  2. Relentless Power macrumors P6

    Relentless Power

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    #2
    Did they say if the repair would be covered under Apple? Assuming your Mac is under warranty?
     
  3. MetalCores thread starter macrumors regular

    MetalCores

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Mosinee, WI
    #3
    It is under warranty. They did not tell me if it would be covered or not
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    It sounds like the bootcamp process did not fully clean up and so the partition is still there occupying space. The bad news is that you're using a Fusion drive which complicates matters.

    What's the output of diskutil list (from the terminal).
     
  5. MetalCores thread starter macrumors regular

    MetalCores

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Mosinee, WI
    #5
    I'm at work currently but I will grab a pic of the list later tonight and post it. The Apple advisor did have me run a command that was diskutil cs createVolume with a bunch of numbers after it but it told me my logical volume already has a logical volume if that helps at all.
     
  6. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #6
    Sounds like he had you destroy and then re-create the Fusion drive.
     
  7. MetalCores thread starter macrumors regular

    MetalCores

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Mosinee, WI
    #7
    Here is my diskutil list. Hopefully someone can help me [​IMG]
     
  8. MetalCores thread starter macrumors regular

    MetalCores

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Location:
    Mosinee, WI

Share This Page