Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hkriffraff

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 6, 2003
This is my first year as a Mac user and I’m getting accustomed to having to look forward to big events hoping that something I want will be released. So far the year has been a disappointment… the iPod mini release was at first exciting, but as an “international” customer, it seems I’ll have to wait until the thing is outdated before I have any chance of getting one.

Then I was hoping for the new iPods, but nothing at WWDC. Does this mean that the earliest possible release will be the Paris expo? Another gripe is the unreasonable price of a .Mac subscription - which mostly includes features I have no use for, but now seems more and more necessary to get all the touted OS features.

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard
You can thank Hitachi for the lack of iPod Minis. They didn't forecast properly, so there aren't enough hard drives. Still, they approved an expansion--for December. I suppose if Apple is willing to go with 5 GB drives from Seagate, they could alleviate the problem but not totally eliminate it.

I'm not sure why Apple would introduce updated iPods at WWDC but there should be a revision within a couple of months.

As far as .Mac goes, I haven't seen much in it, so I haven't tried it. The virus protection may be necessary some day soon, but that's the only thing of value.

3-22

macrumors regular
Nov 19, 2002
hkriffraff said:
This is my first year as a Mac user and I’m getting accustomed to having to look forward to big events hoping that something I want will be released. So far the year has been a disappointment… the iPod mini release was at first exciting, but as an “international” customer, it seems I’ll have to wait until the thing is outdated before I have any chance of getting one.